1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

black screen in games

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by abuzar1, Sep 15, 2007.

  1. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Hey I just installed Freedom Fighters(old game I know) and when I run it it gives me a black screen and says EA games. After that it's just a black screen. I did update my video card drivers, so at this point I'm stumped.

    I also tried using my friends CD to no avail.
     
  2. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well, Freedom Fighters came out in 2003 according to wikipedia, so it should be compatible with xp.
    Does your friend's version of the game work on his PC?
     
  3. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yeah it works fine with his. My cd worked fine on my old compaq as well.
     
  4. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Sounds silly, but have you temporarily tried reducing your overclock?
     
  5. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I'll try setting it back to stock speed.
     
  6. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Same thing on stock CPU and RAM.
     
  7. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Hmm, is there any difference in where you've installed it? (for example does one of you use C:program files for your games?)
     
  8. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    No, we both used the Normal C: Program Files/EA Games directory.
     
  9. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Hmm, I have to say I'm stumped. Are you running the game from a CD-ROM drive that has the letter D: ?
     
  10. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I was running it from D, then I ripped it and mounted it, but it's still the same.

    EDIT: Oh and I tried two different torrent. Man I really like this game too :(
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2007
  11. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ok, if your friend has a legitimate CD, that's different, but the way you're doing it is asking for trouble. Don't mount the ISO, that won't be drive letter D, some games are finicky as to which drive you run them from. Use a proper genuine version, as you'll often need a cracked exe in order to run downloaded copies, even if you mount the ISO.
     
  12. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I think he has a genuine version. I got my copy form Pakistan, so it is most definitely NOT genuine. I just tried the torrents to see if it would work.
     
  13. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    You are actually using a fixed exe though? I can't remember how long it's been since you could download a game and run it without needing to mess around with the files in some way, long before 2003.
     
  14. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yeah I'm using a fixed .exe

    It came with the torrent.
     
  15. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Is it reported working? I sometimes find I have to go looking for a differnt fixed exe.
     
  16. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Screw it, the cracks for it are too hard to find! Nothing on gameburnworld.com. Anyway I'm bored so you know any good FPS that I can try out?
     
  17. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,321
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well what haven't you already played?
    The FPSs I've played in the past year or so are:
    UT2004
    Quake 4
    Doom 3
    FEAR (I should be getting extraction point tomorrow! Yay!)
    Stalker
    Rainbow Six Vegas
    SWAT 4 (fantastic game, not quite an FPS, but in that sort of vein)
    Doom 64 for PC
    Half Life 2
    Prey

    There are far more out there, but those are the ones I've been having fun playing in the past few months.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2007
  18. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I'll probably check out PREY. I've played most of the other ones. Stalker was pretty good, but someone had given me a downloaded version and it was customized with mods. Didn't like it, so I'll just go buy the retail version.
     
  19. barricade

    barricade Guest

    Right click the icon on the desktop, goto Properties, then go to compatibility, check Run this in compatibility and select windows 98. I had to do that for fallout 2
     
  20. abuzar1

    abuzar1 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,830
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Barricade, you are awesome! Thanks it works now!
     

Share This Page