1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burning A Compilation DVD from Existing Footage ??

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Snake4968, Feb 13, 2005.

1. Snake4968

Snake4968 Member

Hi,
    Another newbie here...all advice greatfully received.
    I will confess now that i don't have a clue about DVD backup. Spent plenty of time in the past doing dodgy Playstation games and audio so i'm no stranger to PC's and backups...now i want to do something legitimate i can't get anywhere :-(

My dilemma is that i have just come back from a holiday where i did various things like bungy jumps, skydiving etc.
    I have about 5 DVD's containing the video footage of all the jumps, each only about 3-10 minutes long and i want to back them all up on to one DVD...firstly for convenience of viewing and secondly so i don't lose the footage in the future.

I have tried uploading all the video TS files to the HD and burning them onto a DVD using Nero 6 (DVD Video option). This is fine for any 1 lot of footage but whenever i go to add another set, Nero won't let me add them, some of the file names seem duplicated, i.e. i already have VOB, IFO etc (excuse the lack of info here only i can't remember the full extensions). I think it returns a message saying "already present".

Is there a way of renaming the files that go into the Video TS folder on Nero as it didn't seem to like me doing it, tried draging the relevant folders in their entirity but had the same result.
    I also tried just compiling all the folders as a Data Disc but it returned with a message saying that the DVD would not run on a stand alone player.

I guess i don't have a clue what i'm doing so could somebody please tell me where/how to start.