1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

burning d-l with Plextor 716A ?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Mrlovkim, Feb 13, 2005.

  1. Mrlovkim

    Mrlovkim Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    First I use

    Media type-Verbatim

    When burning I ofcourse shut off virus scans and shut off screen savers.

    AnyDVD and burn with Nero recode.

    I also have DVD shrink and Decrypter but have not used them in a while for I love Nero recode.

    I use my 712A to burn the movie from to my Plextor 716A.

    The 712A and 716A are on the secondary Ide cable,712A slave,716A master.

    I tried to backup Anchorman and Boogie Nights and for some reason can't get the menues to work(Special features etc) and on my one DVD player most times goes to error when trying to play.

    On Anchorman I can't even get to the main menu

    On Boogie Nights when trying to access special features it freezes on DVD players and just shuts off if using power DVD on my computer.

    I backedup Excalibur which is dual layer and it plays fine on computer and on my players.

    I have not had any problems backing up single layer discs and been doing that for months, so I am just pulling out what hair I have left on my head figuring out the dual layer problem.

    What am I doing wrong for it is getting exspensive having disc that don't work correctly.

    Thank you ahead of time.
    Al
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2005
  2. Mrlovkim

    Mrlovkim Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Any help please.:(
     
  3. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Remove all discs from drives.

    Open DVD Decrypter.

    From the 'Mode' menu, select 'ISO' -> 'Read'.

    Put DVD-9 disc in drive.

    Take note of the 'Destination' file name.

    Click the big 'Decrypt' button.

    Take the DVD-9 disc out of the drive.

    From the 'Mode' menu, select 'ISO' -> 'Write'.

    Put a blank double layer disc in your DVD Writer.

    Click the little folder icon - 'Browse for source file' - and select the MDS file created for you as part of the steps above.

    Click the big 'Write' button.

    MDS FILE CONTAINS THE LAYER BREAK INFO USE IT!
     
  4. Mrlovkim

    Mrlovkim Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Never used those for dual layer burning but I will try this.:)

    Does this mean Nero recode is no good for dual layer burning?


    Thank you
     
  5. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    yes 1 app done!

    on nero i dont know as mostly i use on CDRs and slipstreamimg winXP service packs etc...

    i use dvd apps for dvd so to speak as they were made from start for the job!

    nero was cd's to start with!
     
  6. Mrlovkim

    Mrlovkim Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok I am trying Anchorman again but with the process you suggested and I will be back later to tell whether it worked or not.:)


    Thanks
     
  7. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    anchorman? never heard of that app...

    i said use just dvd decrypter to rip and burn!

    read iso then write iso = easy...

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2005
  8. jim_dandy

    jim_dandy Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Rotary... Anchorman is the name of a movie.
     
  9. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    hehehe - please excuse my ignorance...

    hows it going now? did it work fingers crossed!!!
     
  10. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Hey Rotary :)

    Opinion:

    Like the movie title says... It might have been better if someone would have tied that Movie to an anchor and sent it deep into the ocean. <G>
     
  11. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi there ScubaBud

    hehehe

    i see you got nepilium with his picture! looks kool!

     
  12. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Thanks Rotary, but I have to admit, yours came out the best. I never told you that in one of the testing threads, someone was using your gif, and I believe Nepilium told him that you might not be happy about it. This was way before I personalized them to help curve that possibility and also the reason I started it.

    Plus that fact that I don’t have a life, (looking over my shoulder to see if wife is seeing what I type,) and I enjoy the heck out of doing it!!! What a great excuse huh?? <G>
     
  13. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    no problem with the guy useing my picture thats fine with me! i got it from the net myself, but its good now its got the name on!

    and i know what you mean about the wife looking at typing! hehehe...
     
  14. Mrlovkim

    Mrlovkim Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hello everyone.:)

    Rotary

    Your method worked but for some reason my personel exspensive DVD player iT does not like it but it worked on the computer and my cheap DVD player, so I am very happy and grateful for your help.

    Sorry for not explaining Anchorman was a movie.

    Thanks

     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2005
  15. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    yup its not the disc or burn its the player!

    my brother in law bought a well expensive very nice standalone and it wont play anything but originals!

    but i bought 3 real real cheapo dvd players and it plays anything i chuck at it!

    but glad you got the burning sorted!
     
  16. Mrlovkim

    Mrlovkim Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yea its an old Sony DV-S7700 but was the top on the line a few years ago and has never let me down till now.

    I bought this cheap player off ebay that plays both region 1 and 2 and it works on that one, don't figure....LOL

    Thank you again
     
  17. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi there

    not sure here? but you may be able to make it play? if you can get it into nero it has different settings for UDF file system

    and a setting to force compatibility on XBOX consoles...here take a look! i know this setting works its how i used to burn my dvdr's for a long time!

    [​IMG]

    this way you will need to waste say 4 discs trying these settings out, but it could work...
     

Share This Page