1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

cable boxes

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by cactikid, Jun 1, 2014.

  1. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,616
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    posted elsewhere to give people info of whats out there,if buying do research and see what back up the units have like support.

    MIRACLEBOX PREMIUM MINI HD e2 box can run vix and abm £149
    Q5 HD PVR mentioned as a weak tuner. reported hdmi does not work on panasonic,sony and philips tvs
    Openbox C4
    Amiko Mini HD
    Amiko Mini Combo
    Cloud iBox 3 ibox 3 has a weak cable tuner needs a very strong signal to work.
    Estar 800HD SE
    Estar 800HD SE Triple
    Sunray 800HD SR3
    Sunray 800HD SE SR4
    Blade Combo
    DM800c
    VU+ Uno
    VU+ Ultimo
    VU+ Duo 2
    Gigablue SE
    Gigablue SE+
    Gigablue UE
    Gigablue UE+
    Gigablue Quad
    Gigablue Quad+
    Golden Interstar XPEED LX2 HD COMBO Receiver (1x DVB-S/S2 + 1x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2)
    zgemma-star so far poor instructions contained getting good feedback and support now.
    octagon sf 918cg se closed source not e2 receiver
    Vu+ Solo SE Single Tuner DVB-C/T Linux HD PVR
    TM NANO SE COMBO
    XTREND ET8000 2X DVBC/T/T2 + 1 free tuner slot
    MUTANT HD500C HD LINUX CABLE RECEIVER DVB/C
    Mut@nt HD2400 HD Quad Tuner Digital Receiver 2x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 + 2x Spare Slots
    Mut@nt HD2400 HD Quad Tuner Digital Receiver 3x Hybrid DVB-C/T/T2 + 1x Spare Slot
    Spycat Linux Enigma 2 HD COMBO Receiver (1x DVB-S/S2 + 1x DVB-C/T2)
    Xtrend ET8000 2x DVBC/T/T2 Linux Enigma 2 Linux HD Digital Receiver PVR Ready
    Xtrend ET8000 3x DVBC/T/T2 Linux Enigma 2 Linux HD Digital Receiver PVR Ready
    Xtrend ET10000 2x DVB-C/T/T2 Linux Enigma 2 Linux HD Digital Receiver PVR Ready
    Xtrend ET10000 3x DVB-C/T/T2 Linux Enigma 2 Linux HD Digital Receiver PVR Ready
    WeTek Play Full HD Android Google licensed / Kodi / OpenELEC Cable / Terrestrial HD Receiver / Media Player
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2015
  2. Dubmale25

    Dubmale25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is it true that the Q5 cable box will work on UPC? The guy I get my sly sub from has informed me that he will have a UPC card up and running in a few weeks and the Q5 box will work to supply the channels. Anyone else heard this?

    Q5 HD PVR
    Openbox C4
    Amiko Mini HD
    Amiko Mini Combo
    Cloud iBox 3
    Estar 800HD SE
    Estar 800HD SE Triple
    Sunray 800HD SR3
    Sunray 800HD SE SR4
    Blade Combo
    DM800c
    VU+ Uno
    VU+ Ultimo
    VU+ Duo 2
    Gigablue SE
    Gigablue SE+
    Gigablue UE
    Gigablue UE+
    Gigablue Quad
    Gigablue Quad+[/quote]
     
  3. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,616
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    if the dm 500c runs why not others?
     
  4. Dubmale25

    Dubmale25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is that in Ireland, yeah??
     
  5. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,616
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    yes running in the underground not public as in the pre n3 boxes like starview eurovox etc.
     
  6. pudzyryan

    pudzyryan Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    dream500c and dream500t working with over a year. but all kept private ,
     
  7. MICKAH

    MICKAH Active member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,764
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Best way to keep it, its when stuff like that is out in the open, its the mouths who bring it down, openly advertising it, speaking about it, best keep it under wraps
     
  8. Dubmale25

    Dubmale25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This might sound like a stupid question, but I will ask it anyway :D Would I be mad to take out a sub while using upc broadband or would they be able to tell what you are using the broadband for?
     
  9. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,616
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    let me know when they nab ya,dont think i want the horizon route with all the bad reports lol
     
  10. Dubmale25

    Dubmale25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    haha so I take that as a no then, that its not a good idea :D I will just stick with my sly sub then with almost all the HD channels gone now :\ its hard to watch football in SD after having HD for so long!!
     
  11. MICKAH

    MICKAH Active member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,764
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    i would rathur SD than pay what some are asking, for a few HD chans and half the chans on sat,
     
  12. fintannl

    fintannl Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,834
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    48
    on the flip side has been hard to watch dunphy on either sd or hd, figure more painful on hd :)
     
    Colin007 likes this.
  13. Dubmale25

    Dubmale25 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hahah yeah he is hard to watch alright, he has a face only a mother could love :D he would be good for scaring little kids into going to bed though, just showing them his face on the tele would make them run up those stairs to their beds :D
     
  14. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,616
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    hence i look at bbc1 hd and earlier blasted the neighbours with bbc2 hd with glastonbury wow.
     
  15. aletho

    aletho Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    new on this and just looking for basic info

    1. are the boxes worth buying, as in do they work to a good standard of viewing, and good choice of channels, and if so then which box should i invest in.. thanks for any help in advance
     
  16. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,616
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    only someone that has one can give an opinion as to what it gives and good viewing.
     
  17. aletho

    aletho Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i asked a pretty simple question, nothing technical not asking anyone to hold my hand through this, i simply asked a question in a forum titled, CABLE BOXES, that question was, are these any good and worth while buying? and which one should i buy.. dont reply if you are unwilling to help or just put some smart arse comment, you must have better things to do with yout time
     
  18. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,616
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    and who started the thread?these are all new boxes unlike kryptview and starview that are working in uk for years and with hd going on sat 28.2 people want their hd and want to know what alternatives are out there.
    if i was to say it did everything you wanted,no i cannot say as i dont have or own any so why say its a smart arse comment?
     
  19. gerrard08

    gerrard08 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    im after a Vu+Duo HD 1080p cable box, can someone point me to the right direction pls?
     
  20. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,616
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    vu duo are sat boxes not cable,duo2 has changeable tuners,wos is the home of vix.
     

Share This Page