1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can't get GBA games to work on M3 miniSD

Discussion in 'Nintendo DS' started by LufianGuy, Apr 26, 2007.

  1. LufianGuy

    LufianGuy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    FINALLY, I GOT IT TO WORK. The card reader was bad and it works in my friends laptop (he has built in slots for them). So I have been able to run DS games using the settings from here:
    http://www.m3wiki.com/index.php/M3

    So far I only tried to run Yggdra Union (GBA) and it won't run.

    I wrote it three times (always with save option), but the M3 guide here said to use "Software + Hardware" for the patch. The only three options I have are (gamemanager and firmware at v32)
    "Soft Patch"
    "Hardware 1"
    "Hardware 2"

    I tried to run the game using all of these options separately.

    I turned on my DS, pressed start to run in GBA mode, and tried to run the game. Every time the game would get a screen that says
    "loading
    0000kb"

    and nothing more would happen after that. Maybe its a bad rom?!

    It seems there isn't much for GBA settings on M3 Wiki, so I assume they are all the same.

    What is wrong here?

    Thanks, all help is appreciated

    I'M SO HAPPY IT IS FINALLY WORKING!
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2007
  2. mr_hanky

    mr_hanky Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    First thing would be to try other games, just to make sure it's not a bad rom.

    Also, check that you havn't bought an M3 Pro/Professional version, as these have next to no GBA support.

    You can also try putting the game onto the M3 without using the game manager, you just need to find a file called blank.dat in the gamemanager folders on your computer, rename it to exactly what the GBA game is called (except the .dat at the end) and copy it to the GBA saves folder on your M3.
     
  3. Krystovar

    Krystovar Regular member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I've also had problems running GBA roms on my M3 Perfect (on a fat DS). Although for me, it counts up the loading KB and then I just get a blank screen.

    I will try running some without patching them as you mentioned, and hopefully that will work for me too. :)
     
  4. LufianGuy

    LufianGuy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Is there a best option to choose for the patch that usually works out of
    software, hardware 1, and hardware 2?

    Which one is the best choice?
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2007
  5. mr_hanky

    mr_hanky Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    The default option that is selected is the best (can't remember what it is though) also try disbabling Real Time Save as that can break games.

    Have you tried the method I mentioned of not using the GamemManager?
     
  6. XbusterZ

    XbusterZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i'm glad you FINALLY got your stuff to work, congrats and all, blah...

    press start when selecting the game.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2007
  7. LufianGuy

    LufianGuy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes, it seems it was all due to bad card readers (dam meritline). I realized that pressing start when loading GBA games makes them load because you aren't fast loading, you are just loading.

    (I think that pressing the start button for GBA games should be added to the M3 newbie guide)

    Thanks, I apologize for all my belly aching, hopefully I can make it up by trying to answer some questions here.

    Still have some more questions though:

    1. I can't get Pokemon Diamond or Pearl to work, I figure it is because I have to use Force R/W, is that safe to use?

    2. I wrote all of my GBA games using soft patch, this is ok right?

    ITS SO F'IN SWEET THIS WORKS WITH THE GAMECUBE GAMEBOY PLAYER!
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2007
  8. XbusterZ

    XbusterZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    1. if that's what they tell you to do, do it. i have some games that also need force and they don't seem to give any problems.
    2. if it works then who cares. but just in case: 4wyertdjfh

    I F'IN KNOW, I F'IN KNOW...
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2007
  9. LufianGuy

    LufianGuy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Some stupid quick questions here:

    1. It is okay to rewrite the name of the .gba game files to the name of the game right? (like M7-bof2.gba to Breath of Fire II.gba)

    2. Is it okay to have spaces in the game name, or should I use _?
     
  10. XbusterZ

    XbusterZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    1. yes.

    2. yes.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2007
  11. LufianGuy

    LufianGuy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    More questions:

    1. Can you rename games already wrote/on the card?

    2. You won't lose any of the saved stuff if you rewrite the .dat to match the title of the game right?

    Its annoying to look at the stupid names of these games and try to remember which is which.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2007
  12. XbusterZ

    XbusterZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    1. you must reassociate the save to the game's new name. the save can be named whatever, but as long as it is associated to the correct game, it will work. but how do you do it?

    2. no data loss.
     
  13. LufianGuy

    LufianGuy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks a lot man!, you are a godsend!

    Questions:

    1. Is there a guide that explains how this works or do you think I will be able to figure it out on my own?
     
  14. XbusterZ

    XbusterZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    it's pretty straightforward.

    edit:

    1. select your sd/cf's drive letter...

    2. select gba or nds mode.

    3. you should see the saves now and the target roms.

    4. backup and restore are no-brainers.

    5. extra:
    a. make a dummy and init-slot; makes a dummy save and file.
    b. convert nds...; makes the saves smaller, may make them unstable but loads faster. [note: m3 has adopted this save compression method for nds backups inside of the game manager, so there is no need to use it for ndsgames.]
    c+d. rename/dlete dat; duhhh.
    e. change target rom; choose what game the save is for.
    f+g. m3>>...; put your save in other save file types or versa vice.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2007

Share This Page