1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Capturing video from internet and placing on a dvd

Discussion in 'Other video questions' started by Itsme2000, Nov 24, 2003.

1. Itsme2000

Itsme2000 Guest

Ok, I am a newbie and I am planning on buying a dvd recorder soon.Is it possible, and with what software, to capture video from a live stream, such as yahoo's launchcast or any others, and rip it to dvd or vcd to play on a dvd player? And is it possible to, say, record such visualizations from winamp while its playing music, burn to dvd, and play it on dvd so that the visuals are on the screen with the music playing in the background? Thanks

2. Minion

Minion Senior member

You can record streaming content, how you record it would depend on what streaming format it was and what transfer protocol it used..I my self Capture WMV/ASF streams from some adult sites useing the http and mms protocol useing a Little Program called "Windows media stream recorder"...If the stream in in windows media format you just Right click on the screen were the video is playing and go to "properties" and a properties page will pop up with the URL that you are watching and you just copy and paste the URL into "Windows Media Stream recorder" and start recording the Stream ..After you record the stream you would have to encode the strream to Mpeg2 for DVD, But since most stream are Very low resolution low quality files you will have to use the Sif DVD format(352_240/288-pal) if you want the Picture to be watchable..that you will have to author the files to DVD...The good thing about the SIF DVD format is it allows you to fit up to 6 hours of Video on a Single DVD-R...If you want to record Winamp visualizations you will need a screen capture Program of some sort to record it right off your screen...Good Luck

3. njcub

njcub Member

Would you know how to do it with a re4al player stream to put on a dvd format. thanx in advance