1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Car Audio Power problem

Discussion in 'Audio' started by SpecialK3, Dec 24, 2007.

  1. SpecialK3

    SpecialK3 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am having a problem with the power to my car stereo. I just replaced my old with a new stereo. My problem is that when I turn my car on the stereo will come on for a second then turn off. I found out that the only way to have it stay on is to turn on my headlights. It also resets the clock ecerytime I turn the engine off(I can see the clock for that one second). Not sure why this is happening because I have hooked all the wires that were used on my old stereo and did not have this problem. Does anybody have a solution for this? Thanks
     
  2. undine

    undine Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sounds like you have some of the power wires crossed. You most likely have a power wire that stays on all the time for the clock , a switched power wire that comes on with the car switch , and a light wire that controls the panel lights in the radio. All these wires have power on them (at times).
     
  3. jboyle

    jboyle Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    sort this out asap.it could wreck the electrics in ur car.
     
  4. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,617
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    i agree most stereos do not use all wires and do not go on colour codes,when u were checking for a live feed do your instrument panel light up?
     
  5. jboyle

    jboyle Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you have ur power connected to ur lights!and ur memory connected to ur ignition.it should be the other way around!:)
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2007
  6. nawfside

    nawfside Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thats y u should never cut the factory harness and always use a metra wiring kit to avoid any complications
     
  7. SpecialK3

    SpecialK3 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My only thing is if it worked with the old
    stereo, why would it be like this if
    i used the same wires to hook the new up? This is what confuses me. Thanks for the help.
     
  8. jboyle

    jboyle Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you probly just matched colour to colour??not all radios are the same!!
     

Share This Page