1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Clone Starview, now jTaged, but no joy...

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by Dicky_boy, Aug 2, 2007.

  1. Dicky_boy

    Dicky_boy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,

    I have soldered a jTag to my cloned Starview receiver and the receiver makes a slight "click" when i turn on the power. However, there are no lights on the LCD and I cannot get jKeys to recognise the Device. The jKeys software I'm using is jKeys by Dave2, Version 1.3.3 (Build 106).

    I'm stuck and no nothing! So any advice is gratefully received!

    Cheers.
     
  2. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
  3. Dicky_boy

    Dicky_boy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi mate, thanks for the advice. I've tried Skymax but the receiver is still not detected... I get the following message:

    IDCODE : FFFFFFFF
    Fail DCU, Plesae Restart or Reset CPU Box
    Init JTAG
    DCU Fail

    Sorry to be a pain, but what else can I try?
     
  4. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    That IDCode means you are not connected to the box. Check you have all your connections done correctly.

    Also your parellel port should be set to EPP and IRQ 378 as it needs to be. You can change the settings in the bios.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2007
  5. Dicky_boy

    Dicky_boy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well the only thing i can think of is the VCC wire that is soldered to connection "C40". It is soldered to the bottom of the component as per the diagram i received with my jTag. Could this be a problem? All the other connections are sound.
     
  6. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    No thats where it should be. Have you checked your parallel port connection as per my previous post?
     
  7. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Just a query you have got the Starview powered up when you are running the Jtag?
     
  8. Dicky_boy

    Dicky_boy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I think you're right! I need to check my parallel port on my laptop before I go any further...

    Thank you for your patience!
     
  9. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96

    Work away :)
     
  10. Dicky_boy

    Dicky_boy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thank you so much for your help - the box is now up and running!! Good man! I've read a few threads about different versions to install on the receiver, should i go for 2.57 or 2.59? Also, any idea where i can download either one of these? Once again, many thanks for your help!
     
  11. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96


    Nice to see you back up and running :) I presume it was the para port settings.

    You need to flash the box with the 2.57eE Fixedfor clone boxes. This can be found in the link at the end of my post marked Eamos FTA Library. You will find it in the Starview Firmware folder.
     
  12. Dicky_boy

    Dicky_boy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Many thanks Scouser!

    You were right, it was the parallel port that was not working on my laptop - i tried a desktop and it recognised the jTag instantly!

    I'm going to recommend you for a Knighthood!
     
  13. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96

    No problem. Anytime you need help just drop back :) Gone for the evening so best of luck.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2007
  14. Dicky_boy

    Dicky_boy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi Scouser,

    Hope you're doing well. Thank you for the help in getting the box up and running, it works a treat now! Just one query, Sk* Sp*rts and Nati*nal Geogra*hic channels sometimes get interference and on a bad day the screen goes blank and it says Bad or Scrambled Channel.

    Is there anything I can tweak to solve this?

    Many thanks!
     
  15. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96

    You can try this as it might just be a minor frequency issue:

    1 Menu
    2 Factory settings
    3 type in code ( 0000)
    4 press ok. this will delete channels.
    5 Installation
    6 Change provider (Eg n*L etc)to which ever one used in your area.
    7 autoscan ( when it says *** channels found , exit back out all the way until u are back at the scrambled/no signal 'tv' screen)
    8 Hit menu again
    9 go into parental control
    10 press info on remote and type in 2004
    11 new screen appears , change EMU to on

    Exit to view. You will have to re sort your channel list and favs after though.

    Failing that it could be VM working in your area or you may require a signal booster.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2007
  16. Dicky_boy

    Dicky_boy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Just done all of what you described and i think it has done the job! You're a good man, many thanks indeed!
     
  17. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96

    Youre Welcome Dicky, enjoy :)
     

Share This Page