1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

clonedvd slow

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by dster, Dec 10, 2003.

  1. dster

    dster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I read that using clonedvd + anydvd to backup a movie takes 25 mins. Mine takes 60+ mins just to transcode. I use the latest clonedvd & anydvd. I have a HP laptop 900mhz and IBM 800Mhz, and yes I have atapi controller on dma. Can anyone help me? I really appreciate it. thanks
     
  2. malum

    malum Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I don't use it but I imagine that the time given is an average for a decent PC.
    Both of yours look a little slow to be doing it in that time.
     
  3. dster

    dster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a buddy who tried different speed from 500mhz to 2ghz and all the result comes out under 40 mins.
     
  4. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    dster, I tried to answer this question earlier for another member. Total time depends on several things working together. Processor speed. ram, HD speed, burner speed all have an effect on total time. Also a big factor is length of movie. Most people stating short total times are probably only backing up just the movie too. If you do complete dvd backup, expect longer total time. The more extras and audio tracks you remove, the faster you will get done. If you get a playable copy, I wouldn't complain too much. Jerry
     
  5. cheezzzz

    cheezzzz Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I would say that memory and Hd speed (I suspect 5400 rpm) is your problem. If thats the case, the process is normal.

    cheezzzz_X_X_X_X_X_[small]Just another lonely Hawaiian with:
    P4 2.66Ghz, 120gb HD (7200rpm)
    2X512mb DDR333 (PC2700) SDRAM
    Sony DVD RW DW-U12A(OEM for DRU500AX)
    Smartipper/DvdDecrypter
    CloneDVD/AnyDVD
    Dvd2one/Nero6Ultra[/small]
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2003
  6. dster

    dster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks guys! I think it is my hard drive.
     
  7. #afonic

    #afonic Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Also the CPU and the compression you are using, as well as the length of the movie can change the time.

    I have an Athlon 3200+ with 512MB RAM and SATA hard disk and it can do from 30 to 45 minutes depending on the movie (including burning).
     
  8. koola

    koola Guest

    I agree with all of you but before you go buying HDs, mem, Cpus etc, just check that you have an ASPI layer installed and that CloneDVD is using it. If you have, then it is the hardware, but if you haven't any ASPI installed, make sure that you install the latest layer.
    This will help your time dramatically.

    Good luck :D
     
  9. dster

    dster Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I don't think installing ASPI layer will help because Clonedvd doesnt use ASPI but I will try it anyways. thanks
     
  10. koola

    koola Guest

    It does use ASPI, but its own ASPI.
    CloneDVD uses the ElbyCDIO Driver, which is Elbys own version of ASPI.
     
  11. pigglet

    pigglet Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    clone dvd read speed settings. where are they? I am having slow read times. they are at 1x. DVD Xcopy reads the disks twice as fast.
     

Share This Page