1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

computer will not boot randomly

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by pollution, Jun 2, 2007.

  1. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have tried everything except a new CPU and this computer will not boot up randomly. When the computer does not boot no signal is sent to the monitor. Could it be that the CPU is bad?
     
  2. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    If there is nothing that appears on your monitor then it is probably your graphics card, not cpu.
     
  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    is the power light on?
     
  4. ledeni

    ledeni Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have the following problem:
    Sometimes it takes my PC to boot about 5 minutes to boot; when it boots, after CPU and RAM checking, I wait 3-7 minutes to continue to the next black screen where IDE checking is checked.
    That happens at random with about 40% chance to happen at Power up and about 10% on Reboot (restart).
    In "normal" case that period (after CPU and RAM check is complete), I wait only 1-2 seconds to proceed to the next black screen (IDE check).

    Any clue?
     
  5. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It is not the graphics card, pulled that out and running off of motherboard's graphics. The power light is not on because I pulled all the wires out except the power switch because I found this to be the best way to troubleshoot. I do not think there is a power light I only see a HDD light on the front of the case.

    I am thinking the motherboard may be shorting out from the case not being made well enough so I will see if I can put the board into another case and boot 30 times in a row :).

    ledeni
    I have seen your problem come up when hard drives and DVD/CD drives are on cable select. I personally prefer to set everything master or slave by jumpers and keep DVD/CD drives on one IDE cable and Hard drives on a seperate IDE cable.
     
  6. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    There is a power light on the computer and it does come on when the computer does not boot. I do not think it is shorting out because I just eliminated that.
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    try clearing the cmos as have found that to work sometimes on tempermental computers.
     
  8. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I cleared the CMOS by disconnecting the Power cord and then removing the battery from the motherboard but it's still doing the same thing.
     
  9. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I did not wait for 20-30 minutes after having the battery out and there is no CMOS clearing jumper :(. Time to wait 20 to 30 minutes.
     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    check the motherboard manual as there is usually a cmos jumper.
     
  11. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Nope there is not, already downloaded the manual and nothing :(. Cheap emachine computer.
     
  12. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    take a look at the can shaped objects on the motherboard which are capacitors. they are supposed to be flat topped not domed.
     
  13. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Capacitors are good. CMOS cleared and the computer is still doing the not want to boot on random thing. Could it be the CPU?
     
  14. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I think it may be the CPU because I have tried another Power Supply, Motherboard, clearing CMOS, pulling all the PCI cards out, changing CPU fan, and changing Hard drive.
     
  15. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    try another cpu but 1st try different ram.
     
  16. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I left that out but I already tried different RAM. I ordered a new CPU and if that does not work my only other possible thing wrong with the computer is a combination of problems and not just one.
     
  17. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It was the CPU causing the computer not to boot randomly. I assume you have seen this be the case before ddp?
     
  18. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    a couple of times
     
  19. ledeni

    ledeni Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried using seperate power cables. I also tried with dvd-rom disconnected. Nothing helps.
     
  20. pollution

    pollution Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    @ledeni

    What is your hard drive RPM, cache?
    What is your RAM size and speed?
    What is your processor speed?
    What is your operating system?

    I am just wondering because if you have an underpowered hardware for the operating system it could be causing this.

    Or you may have something infecting your computer.
     

Share This Page