1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting two computers

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by jmcole, Feb 11, 2008.

  1. jmcole

    jmcole Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I am trying to connect my laptop to my desktop using Cat5 ethernet to ethernet. My desktop is running XP Pro and my laptop is running Vista Home Premium. I can't get it to work. I can connect my Xbox to my desktop with no problems, but I can't connect the two PC's. Any and all advise is welcome.
     
  2. silk42

    silk42 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you're connecting the 2 computers directly together without using a switch or hub, then you'll need a crossover cable. If you're not sure what that is, simply do a google search.
     
  3. jmcole

    jmcole Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yep, Cat5 crossover cable.
     
  4. seb32

    seb32 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Make sure they're in the same workgroup. By default, XP's workgroup is "MSHOME" and Vista's is "WORKGROUP".

    Make sure your firewall is set to allow file and printer sharing (if that's what you're trying to do.

    In Vista, you have to set the network as "Private" to see the other computer, then set all the settings you want to on, especially "Discoverable" and "File Sharing". You can do this through the Network and Sharing Center. (You can open this through Control Panel > Network and Internet > Network and Sharing Center)

    What exactly are you trying to do? (share internet, files, printers, ...)?
     
  5. jmcole

    jmcole Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I made a new workgroup, and changed it in Vista and XP.

    My Vista is set as "Private".

    I set all the settings on.

    I want to share files and internet.
     
  6. seb32

    seb32 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So you connected them and... what? Nothing comes up?

    Try pinging one of the computers from the other (make sure you're pinging the right ip).
     
  7. jmcole

    jmcole Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I connected them and... Nothing comes up.

    I tried pinging the laptop with the desktop, request timed out.
    I tried pinging the desktop with the laptop, request timed out.
     
  8. seb32

    seb32 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hmm... I'd guess that either the cable or one of the ethernet cards is bad. Try connecting each of them directly to the internet, can you get a connection?
     
  9. jmcole

    jmcole Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes, they both work directly to the cable modem. The laptop can connect to the internet with the cat5 cable with no problem. I can also connect to my xbox with the cable.
     
  10. seb32

    seb32 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Are you sure you don't have a firewall up? Other than that, I have no idea...
     
  11. jmcole

    jmcole Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No firewalls.

    When I bring up Network Map on the laptop with Vista, I can see the Laptop, Desktop, and the hub. But the only one that I can access is the Laptop.
     
  12. seb32

    seb32 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hub? Do you have a hub in between?
     
  13. jmcole

    jmcole Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No. The desktop is wired to the cable modem through one ethernet card. I am trying to connect the other ethernet card on the desktop to the laptop. It's the same card and cable that I use to connect my xbox to the desktop.
     
  14. seb32

    seb32 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Can you connect your xbox to your laptop?
     
  15. jmcole

    jmcole Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Just tried. No I can't.
     
  16. seb32

    seb32 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So... there is a problem with your laptop? But you can access internet through the cable modem... are you sure you can? Is it possible that you're connecting through a wireless connection, but it appears that you're using the cable modem?
     
  17. jmcole

    jmcole Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No, I'm positive. If I take the laptop cable out of the desktops ethernet card and connect it to the modem, the laptop can connect to the internet.
     
  18. seb32

    seb32 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Have you tried clicking "Diagnose and Repair" in the Network Sharing Center in the laptop? It gives you a vague description of what's wrong, and it can do some useful stuff like reset your network card. You could also try restarting both the PC and laptop (I assume you did this after you changed the workgroups?)
     
  19. jmcole

    jmcole Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yea, I've tried that too. I'm ready to give up. Instead of trying computer to computer (which I'm having no luck at), I'm going to shut them both down for the night and try making a home network using the hub tomorrow.

    This Windows Vista is drivin me crazy.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2008
  20. seb32

    seb32 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    lol, good idea, I tried to do the same thing -- cat6 crossover cable, PC running XP Home, laptop running Vista Home Premium. I managed to get printer sharing, but not files. I ended up buying a $20 router from Best Buy...
     

Share This Page