1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Convert - PC Games to Console

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by M8trix, Aug 21, 2004.

  1. M8trix

    M8trix Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Is this even possible?
     
  2. bikekid8

    bikekid8 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    can you explain this a little more, what do you want to do?
     
  3. M8trix

    M8trix Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I want to know if I can convert a PC game, such as Doom 3, and make it compatable with a console system, like Xbox?
     
  4. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hi,

    Unless you can reverse engineer the Xbox format and code Doom 3 properly to work on it I don't think so :)

     
  5. bikekid8

    bikekid8 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    im not completely sure if it is at all posible to do without completely reprogramming it but i do know that it would b hard as hell either way, would b cool if you could do that though
     
  6. Toiletman

    Toiletman Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    For Doom 3, unless you are in ID software, that is a No.
     
  7. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I kinda question the utility of it. The graphics would be terrible and FP shooters would be a nightmare to play on a console controller.
     
  8. Motomatt

    Motomatt Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I thought Doom3 was going to be available for the XBOX? Not this year though..

    Matt
     
  9. Toiletman

    Toiletman Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Yep it is. But let's say ID did a straight port of Doom 3 PC version to Doom 3 XBOX version, I doubt XBOX would run it very well. I don't think you can even do a straight port. After all, you can't really compare a console to a PC.
     
  10. Motomatt

    Motomatt Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yeah and the minimum requirments are at least a 1 gig CPU.. I have a 3.2 ghz and a decent video card and it still gives my system a workout.. I personally think the doom3 port might be dissapointing. I hope not though..

    Matt
     
  11. Toiletman

    Toiletman Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    The loading times are super duper long, but I get 50-60 FPS with a X800 card and that's using the 4.7 Catalyst drivers without any graphic tweaks.

    With the 4.9, it's probably 60 always.

    I think the XBOX would handle it at about 40 fps constant but obviously, with much lower quality graphics.
     
  12. friendly

    friendly Guest

    How do you make a game on th X-Box or PS2?
    Is there some type of 3D x-box gamemaker?
     
  13. Toiletman

    Toiletman Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    PS2 and XBOX both have game making kits (They didn't make a lot, so it's going to be hard to find) that you can either buy from a shop or from someone you know. Apart from that, the only easy way to get it is to buy from Sony/MS Online.
     

Share This Page