1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Converting .AVI-- DIVXMPG4 V3 to MPEG2(DVD) ??

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by karada88, Oct 2, 2004.

1. karada88

karada88 Guest

Hi, i am a newbie and i've been working endlessly around the clock to just simply get a taste of what it
    feels to successfully create a DVD movie so i can just simply watch on my standalone Norcent DVD player. The source file is in .AVI format and i know it needs to be converted to MPEG2(DVD) standard(white-book), before i can burn on to a DVD-R or DVD+RW disc in order to be able to play in the standalone dvd player.

Ok here's the details of the .AVI file:
    resolution= 512 x 384px
    Audio Bit Rate= 96kbps
    Audio format= Lame MP3
    Frame rate= 25/fps
    Data rate= 112kbps
    Video sample size= 24bit
    Video compression= DIVXMPEG4 V3

Please correct me if i'm wrong, i've only been studying this for a week with less sleep, i'm guessing that any standard or most regular DVD players cannot support DIVXMPEG4 video compression. Most players out there only play either VCD which is MPEG1, or SVCD or DVD which is actually in MPEG2 format. Now back to the point, which means that since my .AVI file is in MPEG4 format, it needs to be converted back to MPEG2, before i can use some authoring tools such as "DVDit" to burn finally on to DVD-R or DVD+RW medium or media so i can finally rest and watch on my standalone DVD player :), which i don't think is compatible with DIVX.
    If my theory is correct here are the steps i need to take, please correct me anyone if i'm wrong, for i am still guessing here.
    Step 1.