1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Copying a few DVD's

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by swervin, Nov 7, 2004.

1. swervin

swervin Regular member

First thing, as you see I'm a newbie. This handle totally applies to me. This is my first adventure into the fantastic world of making/copying DVD's. I've lurked here for a week or so and read many threads on this, including the wonderful guides. After reading here, I quickly found out I bought the wrong media, Memorex. I found this out when after my first few burns wouldn't do anything at all. Well, not entirely true. They would burn, or at least Nero said they did. Then when clicking on play video, my player light comes on and it just sits there doing nothing.

I try to look at the files in windows explorer and it says "Windows cannot read from this disk. The disk might be corrupted, or it could be using a format that is not compatible with Windows."

The disks are DVD+R's, which my drive is supports. My drive is a Pacific Digital boxed (Toshiba SD-R5272). I bought it from Sam's Club. Don't know if this drive is any good or not, hope so.

I've tried to burn using Shrink 3.2 and DVD Decrypter. No deal. I tried with Shrink 3.2 and Nero 6. Same thing. After finding out on this site that Memorex media is junk and seeing everyone recommends Ritek Ridata Branded G04, I ordered some online. They won't be here until Wednesday. I ordered DVD-R, not knowing which would be better, +R or -R. My burner supports either. I have a Sony DVP-NC665P stand alone player. Does anyone know which type media works best in this player or does it matter?