1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cpu Usage

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by Heno, Aug 7, 2003.

  1. Heno

    Heno Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    my comp is goin mad how can ya lower the cpu usage
    Win 98SE
    383mbRam
    PIII 700Mhz
    thnx
     
  2. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Hey man, you could have a trojan! Do you use kazaa a lot? Also do you run a lot of programs at once??
     
  3. Heno

    Heno Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i havnt used it in a while hav gotten a few mp3s nd shit .
    if i do got a trojan how can i get rid of it btw i got norton 2002 i think
     
  4. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well one to check for is if you have a system32.exe file on your comp?? like if u have that running now?
     
  5. Heno

    Heno Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well i hit ctrl alt delete nd it dnt say its runnin
     
  6. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    well thats good, i cant remember 98, does 98 tell you how much cpu a process is using?
     
  7. Heno

    Heno Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    im usin a prog called ram idle which is tellin me my cpu usage rite now its jumpin between 88 nd 40
     
  8. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    can it tell from individual processes??
     
  9. Heno

    Heno Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i dnt think so it just does general cpu usage i think
     
  10. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well ok then, hmm what kind of programs do you have installed and running?
     
  11. Heno

    Heno Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    msn msnger winamp internet explorer nd on the task bar norton graphics driver task manager ram idle novell client trust i think thats it
     
  12. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    and when did the cpu usage seem to shoot up?
     
  13. Heno

    Heno Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    been up for a while but couple days it really started to annoy me
     
  14. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ye i can feel your pain but probably cant help because of two things

    1. i use xp pro and have more than forgotten 98 lol

    2. i dont know what is running for definate on your machine!

    What i would seriously do is format, re-partition and re-install 98!
     
  15. Heno

    Heno Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    id do the same but my cd rom is fuked when ever i put a disk in it windows hangs
    the bolox
     
  16. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well with a bootable disc, that wouldnt be a problem because you wouldnt be in windows! listen though, its late now and timke for sleep, will catch you tommorrow!
     
  17. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Sleep hehe. Seriously tho, just boot 'er up with the Norton CD and let it run a check for ya. Also, I think some antispyware apps can be of use here! To determine the exact process that is spiking, grab a "Process Viewer" of some sort (actually if i recall, W98 does have one, its just buried somewhere in C:\Windows\System or soemthing). If you have the Norton Systemworks then it definitely has a process viewer (which i personally dont like but its better than nothing)
     
  18. Dela

    Dela Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    8,949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yep could be spyware but i'd doibt it! A trojan would use the CPU much quicker!
     

Share This Page