1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Digital Video Recorder do I need to pay?

Discussion in 'Digital TV - United States & Canada' started by danw64, Jan 27, 2005.

  1. danw64

    danw64 Guest

    I'm new to all this DVR stuff.
    Can't I just buy a Digital Video Recorder and record a show just like we used to on a VCR.
    Or do you have to pay for a service now just to record a show?
     
  2. rick5446

    rick5446 Guest

    all u need is a TV card w/recorder,a Program to convert it to DVD (TMPGEnc DVD author works really well),and a DVD burner.
    TMPGEnc will convert your video and burn it to DVD,so u can watch it on your TV. you can even edit out all the comercials
     
  3. VideoBob

    VideoBob Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It depends on the brand. TiVo brand and the latest ReplayTV models (50xx and 40xx) *require* paid subscription (unless you get one of the Satellite or Cable company units where the Subscription price is already built in).

    Others, like earlier ReplayTV models (1000, 2000, 3000, and *some* 40xx and 50xx) and most Panasonics and some RCA's and Toshibas offer a free guide and allow you to manually input times, like a VCR if you don't want to (or can't) use it.

    TiVo has recently released TiVo basic and some *OEM* TiVo units come with a free lifetime subscription (but not any that bear the TiVo name).

    I have a a Panasonic DMR-85H which uses Guide Plus and an RCA 7000 that also uses Guide+ (both free). I also have an old Panasonic 1000--which is the ReplayTV 2000 and has Free Replay--which I prefer to Guide Plus for several reasons--which I've detailed in another thread in tis forum.

    bob

     
  4. limelight

    limelight Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    do u have to have a access card for it to work?
     
  5. VideoBob

    VideoBob Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    limelight (Junior Member) asked:

    No, none of the units listed use access cards. They are all plug-and-play. The Replay unit uses a dial-up phone and the others get their information off of the cable provider. Not all providers offer Guide+, so ask yours first. Some broadcast PBS channels provide it. None is required for Replay.

    bob
     
  6. limelight

    limelight Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Will the earlier replay models work with directv as far as programming goes? id like to have that feature but if not which model would u suggest?
     

Share This Page