1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

do i have to buy a new stand alone?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by browny111, Oct 27, 2003.

  1. browny111

    browny111 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    the stand alone dvd i have (my 3rd one) does not read my back ups. i have changed my bitset on the burner to read dvd-rom insead of dvd+r but that made no difference.
    is there a way to get the standalone i bought 3 months ago to work? if not what is a goo recomendation? i have dvd+r hp burner.
     
  2. Bodene

    Bodene Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    There could be any number of reasons your stand-alone won't read your backups. It likely isn't even your stand-alone.

    Media, software settings, technique for burning. Any of these could be the reason.

    I have an HP 300i DVD+R and it makes wonderful backups.

    Please list your process and any software you use.
     
  3. #afonic

    #afonic Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  4. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi all

    1, use DVD Shrink to "rip and compress"

    2, use Nero v5 or recordnowmax!

    and the usage go here, very easy to use guides:

    http://www.chrismccann.co.uk/

    thx...
     
  5. browny111

    browny111 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thank you for your replies.
    i am using hp 300i with tdk blanks & the downloades version of dvdx copy express. i took my back up to my local eletronics store & tried it in all of their stand alones (even the ones maked"dvd=r/dvd=rw)it does not work.but it does work in my pc.i will try nero & dvd shrink.
     
  6. #afonic

    #afonic Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Make sure you are using good media (Ritek, TDK, Maxell) and that you write at the lowest speed possible. (This should not be a problem, but some people got their problems solved by burning at 1x).
     
  7. koola

    koola Guest

    Writing at 1x - Don't bother as a F/W update will sort that out! If you write at 4x, it only take 15 mins!

    For media, use branded media for better compatability as some standalones do not read cheap media. A good place to buy media is http://www.ukdvdr.co.uk
     

Share This Page