1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvd copy on the fly

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by stelfc25, Oct 2, 2003.

  1. stelfc25

    stelfc25 Guest

    using a pioneer 106d and a lg combo drive
    i am having problems doing a dvd copy on the fly.
    I am using nero 6 software on already ripped files.
    Burn process is successful but disc is unplayable in any player.
    If i copy to hd first and then burn everthing is ok why ??
     
  2. Discmania

    Discmania Active member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You mean by ripped files you are copying from another disc? Check in Nero that 'disc at once' is activated and that you are not burning in multisession.
     
  3. malum

    malum Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You can't copy DVDs on the fly if they are encrypted (all mainstream movies)

    If you rip them to the hard drive first with a decrypting program then you remove the encryption.

    Did you read any of the guides before posting this question?
     
  4. Discmania

    Discmania Active member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    He has said that he is using already ripped files and that the disc burns sucessfully so I don't think he is trying to copy copyrighted movies on the fly.
     
  5. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    [bold]It's probably because both drives are on the same IDE Cable !! [/bold]
     
  6. stelfc25

    stelfc25 Guest

    ok guys thanks for your help so far.
    as the question was a bit vague let me explain it in a bit more detail.
    amdxp2100 jetway 266b board 80gig7200 hd
    512mb sdram lg 16xdvd+48xcdrrw
    pioneer 106 4x dual format writer 128mb gcard.
    i have decrypted(dvd decryter)and processed (Dvd2one)a movie that i owned and copied using nero 6 (updated) create new dvd movie.
    i then tried to make a copy of this movie on the fly ,the burn process was successful but the disc is unplayable in any standalone dvd player(disc error).
    the reader and the recorder are on separate ide cables(reader with hd)
    when i tried burning on the fly disc at once was activated and i was not creating a multi-session disc.
    i did read the guides before i posted this question and i did state the files i was trying to burn were already ripped
     
  7. malum

    malum Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    sorry, I'm so used to seeing the same questions over and over that I misread yours.

    Copying on the fly is not recommended in any event.
    It could be something as simple as the introduction of errors that render the disc unplayable even though it burns fine.
    It could be a bug in Nero that doesn't give DVds burnt on the fly the right comaptibilty settings.

    It doesn't take long to rip an image and burn it back, besides how many copies of the same movie do you need?
     
  8. stelfc25

    stelfc25 Guest

    i just wanted to test the recorderto see if i could use that option if i wanted and it got me really annoyed i just thought i might have missed something obvious . ill stick to copying to hd if i need to do this again.ta
     
  9. Discmania

    Discmania Active member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I'd say you have a compatibility problem with the discs you are using. Some standalone players will refuse to play certain makes of discs. I presume you have played other DVD-R's on it? Try burning with another disc type. If the disc plays OK on your PC then there's nothing wrong with the burn process.
     
  10. stelfc25

    stelfc25 Guest

    i have tried 8 different brands of discs from cheap to expensive(+r+-r) and wasted the lot thats what got me so annoyed !!!
    i think i must have a problem with nero i will see if i can find any more updates
     
  11. Discmania

    Discmania Active member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Completely uninstall Nero and use Record Now Max instead.
     
  12. malum

    malum Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    " If the disc plays OK on your PC then there's nothing wrong with the burn process. "

    This is not the case.
    PCs will play discs that are not compatible with standalone DVD players at all.
     
  13. Discmania

    Discmania Active member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Well if there was anything wrong with the burn they wouldn't play at all is what I meant. Compatibilty with standalone's is usually down to other things.
     
  14. stelfc25

    stelfc25 Guest

    guess what i have just downloaded a free trial of record now max euro and first time use has produced a perfect copy.
    i can now go and buy some more blank discs in the knowledge that i wont be throwing them at the bin like frisbees.
    thanks for that.
     
  15. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Yeah Record Now deluxe is a much better option in my opinion. Its what i use ;-)
     
  16. Samantha

    Samantha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nero6 does warn you before copying that copying on the fly may result in a DVD that wont be playable. Due to being on the same IDE cable.
    Don't be lazy lol copy to your HD and burn from there, yes it takes a tad longer than on the fly but atleast you wont be spitting out anymore coasters lol
    By the way how do you find your jetway board?? We bought 1 and it was crap with an AMD 2600+ chip.
     
  17. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Even if you have a DVD ROM and DVD Writer on seperate IDE cables, it is still never recommended copying on the fly. there is a high risk of error already, without adding to it with on the fly copying.
     
  18. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    I dont recommend burning on-the-fly either : )
     
  19. Discmania

    Discmania Active member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I've never had one coaster copying 'on the fly' with nero.
     
  20. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Yeah, but generally it isnt recommended
     

Share This Page