1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DVD +/- R/RW --What's the diff?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by zamalek, May 13, 2007.

1. zamalek

zamalek Member

I know this sounds sooooo green, but hey, never stop learning. I'm sure this topic had been discussed a million times. I'm new to AD and don't know how to search specific topic.

So what is the difference between:
    DVD-/DVD-RW (other than one can be re-written to it and one can't)
    DVD+/DVD+RW (same as above)?

Which are the pros/cons of each forma, and the feature of each, if my player/recorder can read and write to both?

Thanks

2. LOCOENG

LOCOENG Moderator Staff Member

3. zamalek

zamalek Member

Thanks for the article. But is any of those formats preferred over the other, I mean minus or plus? I heard something about finalizing some before viewing and all this.

4. LOCOENG

LOCOENG Moderator Staff Member

Just like most vs. situations you will always have champions of one format over the other. I prefer +R for it's booktyping ability and the next 10 people to post in this thread will agree and then you will have a wave of -R warriors. One is really not any better than the other it really just comes down to personal preference. Most of the time the matter is decided on which format your standalone players prefer.

As for the finalizing, I think you are talking about RW media in a multisession environment...I really don't deal with any rewritable media so I won't comment on that.

5. IHoe

IHoe Senior member

here is even a better read on the differences between -+Rs:
    http://www.cdfreaks.com/reviews/Why-DVDRW-is-superior-to-DVD-RW/
    I know this article is technical..... but you can read just the CONCLUSIONS and see...... but the simple reason why +Rs are better than -Rs is BOOKTYPING (IMO). And you can find more about this here:
    http://k-probe.com/bitsetting-booktype-faq.php