1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dvdxcopy skipping/freezing

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by ksb, Aug 30, 2004.

  1. ksb

    ksb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello,
    First off Iam new at this computer dvd burning, I have burnt several dvds using my dvd player/recorder with alot of success, but it doesnt "copy" the dvd it just records what is fed through it. Iam using dvdxcopy plat. on my computer with a sony DRU-530A burner and fujifilm dvd-r. Iam having about a 50% success rate. The messed up movies will play perfect untill it gets about an hour or so into the movie, then it freezes/skipps realy bad (unwatchable). I make sure to restart my computer and run ad-aware, then I do a ctrl-alt-delete and shut down everything with my user name and my screen saver is off. I do this every time and half the movies end up skipping/freezing and the others are absolutely perfect. Any help will be greatly appreciated

    Thanks
     
  2. Jerry746

    Jerry746 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    HI ksb, The problem you are having is usually caused by poor quality blank media. I don't use Fuji media so I'm not sure how good it is. Sometimes its just a matter of finding a brand that your burner likes the best. Maybe try some Ritek grade A media and see if that clears up your problem. Since you are having some success I don't think its your process or system.

    Jerry
     
  3. kringles

    kringles Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The Fujifilm DVD-r that I bought has a media code of Ritek G03 (2X). You can download a free copy of DVDinfopro at http://www.dvdinfopro.com that will give you the media code and a lot of other information about the media and drive you ar using. It is free (had ads but no spyware I know about).
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2004
  4. ksb

    ksb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the info, being new to this I didnt realize there was such a difference in media but after reading all the posts I see that is a very common answer, thanks agian and I will post as soon as I get some new dvd's.
     
  5. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    You can get the most current ripper version here:
    http://www.321sales.co.uk/download.htm

    Your problem is with your media ... To be successful with XCopy you need to burn at 4x or slower. The problem with buying 4x media, is most burners with updated firmware will burn 4x at 8x ... which doesn't help your cause. My suggestion is to find some branded Verbatim 2.4x media.

    Also future XCopy questions should be posted on aD's XCopy forum. Thanks
    http://dvdxcopy.afterdawn.com
     
  6. ksb

    ksb Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Wow! thanks for the super fast responses. Would buying 4x dvd's and setting the burner speed to 4x or lower have the same result as purchasing the slower dvd's?
     
  7. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    See what was in my previous post? You cannot control the burn with XCopy, unless you get 2.4x media.

    Your original question had to do with XCopy. If you use an alternative method of backing up you can. Example if you burn with Nero or DVD Decrypter.
     
  8. Navig8r

    Navig8r Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hello ksb
    Honestly I would get rid of DVDXCopy as to they are no longer offering there software they just lost a lawsuit requiring them to pay a fine...I use DVD Shrink @ www.dvdshrink.org its free and works great. And yes the skipping is the media.. I prefer ProDisk you can find them @ www.supermediastore.com for around $0.36 each really cheap but work great never had a coaster they are rated 5 out of 5. 107 pioneer quality test done, like i say I have used over 100 now and no coasters...DVD shrink works great (quick and simple) never had one problem
     

Share This Page