1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Editing file fro a DVD

Discussion in 'Other video questions' started by jfenim, Apr 14, 2005.

  1. jfenim

    jfenim Guest

    I have acquired all rights and ownership of 5 educational video programs that were produced on Umatic video tape. I have all of the masters as well as VHS copies of all.

    I want to convert them to DVDs for marketing , but they need editing to eliminate such things as the instructor saying ”Stop the tape, rewind and practice” and graphics saying similar instructions about tape.

    I have had a DVD made from one of the programs and have tried many programs to try to edit, with no luck.
    I have :
    Video Edit Magic from Deskshare,
    AvidFreeDV.
    Nero StartSmart
    DVD to VCD AVI DivX Converter
    YASA VOB to MPEG Converter
    Windows Movie Maker
    Super Clone DVD, and
    Windows Media Player

    I have used Video Edit Magic to edit many other video files, but I can’t seem to get anything to work with the DVD version of my educational program.
    The DVD I have of the one program shows a folder entitled VIDEO TS which contains
    5 files titled VTS_01_0, VTS_01_1, VTS_01_2, VTS_01_3, and VTS_01_4
    These are lisited as Nero Showtime file types
    Any suggestions for how I should proceed will be GREATLY appreciated..
    Jack Fenimore
    litrcynow@att.net
     
  2. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Most of this can be done with free software.
    Get ReJig, and use it to demux the DVD to your hard drive.
    This will produce a m2v and mp2/ac3 file.
    Get Cuttermaran.
    Load the m2v and it should load the audio with it.
    Cut out the bits you don't want.
    Author it in whatever you like, even ReJig, although you'll have no menus.
    If you want to retain the menus, get DVD Decrypter, to rip it to your hard drive, in file mode, edit and reauthor from there.
    It might be easier to capture the original tape to the hard drive, then edit, and author.
     
  3. jfenim

    jfenim Guest

    Thanks for your thoughts.
    I have tjought about using something like AVerMedia DVD EZMaker USB2.0 to get the analog from my VCR into my PC.It would have to be from the vhs and not the Umatic because I don't have a Umatic deck.
    What do you think about the quality I would get?
    Thanks again

     
  4. jfenim

    jfenim Guest

    Jim, I downloaded ReJig but can't find any info on how to use it. I tried "File Mode" but I don't know what do do from there.
    Is there any manual or instructions anywhere?
    Thanks
     
  5. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    There might be a tutorial somewhere. I find it very easy to use.
    Hit File mode, click ADD, find VTS_01_1.vob click DONE.
    Put a tick in "fix ac3", give it an output filename, click Demux.
    Repeat for the audio track.
     
  6. jfenim

    jfenim Guest

    I found a different instruction at www.videohelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=224833
    That says to Rejig demultipex select IFO Mode, then select the VTS PGC,select video and audio tracks , select Demux Video, Select where to save and click Process.
    I am trying that right now.
     
  7. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    That'll work. :)
     
  8. jfenim

    jfenim Guest

    OK, I've downloaded Cuttermoran and see that I can do very exact fram cuts, but the SAVE link is greyed out.
    I've looked for HELP but everything is in German.
    No sprechen ze Deutch!!
     
  9. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Make all your cuts where you want them. Add each to the cutlist.
    Once you have them all in the list, hit the "cut Video/Audio" button.
     
  10. jfenim

    jfenim Guest

    I have made 4 cuts. How do I get them entered into the cutlist? Curently there is nothing there.
    Thanks for all your help. It's great.
     
  11. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Find the start of the first cut point. These are the portions you WANT in the movie. It's a little backwards, so you select what you want to KEEP, not what you want to cut out.
    Select mark in.
    Find the end of the portion you want, select mark out.
    Click Add to cut list.
    Find the start of the next portion you want, mark in.
    Find the end of the portion you want, mark out.
    Click Add to cut list.
    etc.
    When you've finished all your cuts, select Cut Video/Audio.
    If you want the finished video to be remuxed together into an mpg, put a tick in the box. If you don't, it will save an m2v and mp2/ac3 audio as separate tracks.
    If you're using ReJig to author, then separate tracks is good.
     
  12. tb75

    tb75 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm trying to get clips from commercial DVDs into a PPT presentation. I got the "DVD to AVI MPeg DivX Coverter" as you did. It worked perfectly - once! Now all I get is error messages. Customer support is nonexistent. What happened when you tried it? How well is this method described to you working?
     
  13. jfenim

    jfenim Guest

    Is there ANY way to capture from VHS tapes to digital without losing audio lip-synch?
    I am trying to make DVDs from children's intructional videos where the instructor is on-camera most of the time,
    I have tried capturing 3 minute pieces but even those are out of synch by the end of the clip.
    Help please.
    Thank you.
     
  14. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    What capture device, what software, what compression?
     
  15. jfenim

    jfenim Guest

    Capture device= Adaptec Sonic MYDVD
    Edit software= Video Edit Magic
    also Arcsoft's SHOWBIZ
    Not sure of the compression, where do I find it?
     
  16. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    By compression, I mean what video format?
    If it's mpeg-1, mpeg-2, or avi (with any number of different codecs).

    Have you tried any other capture software with your device?
    How have you hooked up the VCR to the computer? What sort of cables, to what inputs on the computer?
    Have you tried different aspect ratios?

    99% of sync issues from capture, are the result of dropped frames...that is, the video cannot get from the VCR to the computer without hiccupping, yet the audio continues without error. YOU may not notice the dropped frames when viewing, but when it goes out of sync...
    It only takes one or two dropped frames per minute of capture to throw it off, especially noticable in longer captures.
    Generally, one can reduce the frame size of the video capture...that is, make it smaller, but still compliant.
    If you are currently trying 720x480, try reducing that, yet still keep the aspect ratio.
    Most common (because these are going onto DVD) would be 352x480 (half D1) or 352x240 (1/4 D1).
     
  17. jfenim

    jfenim Guest

    It's MPEG 2
    The VCR goes to the Adaptec VideOH which sends to the computer via USB.
    I have not tried other capture devices.
    As you know, I am a newbie so I have no idea what D1 or D2 means.
    Where and how do I change the aspect ratio dimensions?
    Thanks again.
     
  18. rebootjim

    rebootjim Active member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    OK, now I have a handle on hardware...
    Sonic MyDVD just isn't the best for this.
    If Sonic has any settings you can change...
    I'll research a bit, and see what I can find.
    Back tomorrow. :)
     
  19. jfenim

    jfenim Guest

    ny luck finding if Sonic has any settings I can change?
     

Share This Page