1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Error booting from cd/dvd drive--first pc build

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Halen5150, Mar 16, 2007.

  1. Halen5150

    Halen5150 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well; I have my boot device setup listed as booting from the cd/dvd drive; but after displaying the 'msi' boot screen; now when I have my Windows XP Pro SP2 disc in the drive and I try to boot from it; it says this: 'Error Booting from CD/DVD Device...Press Any Key to Reboot'....

    ..Well; after 'pressing any key' ; it just restarts and keeps bringing me to that screen.


    Do I have a faulty drive or what do you guys think?
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2007
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    is the disk bootable? have you tried it in another pc to see if does same thing?
     
  3. Halen5150

    Halen5150 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well See; that's the thing. There's no way it isn't bootable because I've already done that on an old computer and it was able to recognize the disc perfectly.


    Also; I do in fact have my boot sequence right and everything; and when you put in the disc; the LED on the drive lights up and you can hear it spinning and everything. So I'm really puzzled as to why it says there's an error @ boot-up.

    Also; I've done this using both of the IDE connectors on my motherboard--IDE1 and IDE2.....and I still get an error....


    but; I am doubting that my mobo is the problem; because it's recognizing the drive right and everything......


    ...so; tommorrow I will be switching out the IDE cable to see if that makes a difference.

    ..If you have any other ideas; please let me know.



    P.s. Here's my new build's specs:

    AMD Athlon 3200+ Proc. [AM2]
    1gb OCZ XTC Platinum DDR2 800mhz
    Ultra V Series 500W psu
    Seagate 7200rpm 80gb hdd
    LG 18x super multi dvd burner
    MSI K9N4 SLI-F Mobo
    nVidia Geforce 7600GT gfx card
    standard rosewill atx case



    --Thanx;
    Halen5150
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    try another rom drive to see what happens.
     
  5. Halen5150

    Halen5150 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ehhh....


    I did that too...and it didn't go so well either--I got the same error.

    ..And I also used the same IDE cable each time; so tommorrow I'm gonna change them out to see if it makes any difference; but personally I don't think the cable's is what's causing the error.

    I have yet to find out the real cause.....
     
  6. Halen5150

    Halen5150 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    UPDATE:::: It turns out that your were right.lol..[stupid me...xD]


    the disc that I had obviously was a bad one; because I downloaded a version of Debian Live; and it was able to run the live OS smooth as butter.



    THANKS DDP!!! You're God!!!LOL!!
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    no problem, teach & learn
     

Share This Page