1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ethernet HD???

Discussion in 'Mac - General discussion' started by soc3558, May 16, 2007.

  1. soc3558

    soc3558 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Im a DJ and I need an external FIREWIRE HD for gigs. At home, I would like to use this HD wirelessly via my airport. It is worth mentioning that the airport only has one USB out on it and I currently have my printer using it. It there a HD out there that would work for me?
     
  2. Domreis

    Domreis Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    If you are using Airport express you can add a USB hub to your base station and have up to 4 USB devices recognized my your mac.

    I am using this hub, because it fits sleekly under the airport base station.
    http://www.buy.com/prod/belkin-hi-s...b-for-mac-mini-f5u264/q/loc/101/10412191.html

    I am also this Hard Drives.
    http://www.buy.com/prod/belkin-hi-s...b-for-mac-mini-f5u264/q/loc/101/10412191.html

    The airport the hub and my MacBook Pro all work great together.

    I love having the Firewire 800 on this Hard Drive it is so much faster. I am also impressed by the speed while using it with my airport.
     
  3. soc3558

    soc3558 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The 2nd link is the same as the first. I really like that Hub. Matches the APE very well.

    I have a WD 400 firewire that I will use connected directly to my MBP when out. Will I notice a big difference compared to the 800?
     
  4. Domreis

    Domreis Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  5. soc3558

    soc3558 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thats the very one I just bought. Its only 400. I thought you said something about it being 800
     
  6. Domreis

    Domreis Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Oh... my bad. it is only firewire 400. Are you going to get that hub?
     
  7. soc3558

    soc3558 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If I find a need for one, yes. As of now I really only need one USB for my printer. Why?
     

Share This Page