1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

everything I burn skips and pixels near the end of dvd!

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by boom38, May 1, 2005.

  1. boom38

    boom38 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am new to the burning thing, I have done a few and everything that I burn skips, pixels and freezes near the end of the DVD.
    I have tried every speed as recommended with no change. I am using Ridata 8X printable DVD-R's that I was told where good quality.

    Can anyone help me with some ideas to try? Let me know.

    Thanks
     
  2. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Reduce the overall file size to around 4300Mb.

    Alot of readers have trouble reading the outer circumference of the disc, therefore by reducing the overall filesize, reduces the chance of burning to the outer circumference.

    This is a common issue.......try to not burn to the full capacity of the disc...............
     
  3. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    i would also try 4x burning!
     
  4. aabbccdd

    aabbccdd Guest

    also just do the movie ONLY with no trailers or previews at 4x max
     
  5. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    LMAO.............rotary could you please make a decision on your sig gif's, you're driving me nuts..............LOL

    Cool as always though..............Do I detect more Symantec?????
     
  6. boom38

    boom38 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have tried all speeds so that doesn't seem to matter.
     
  7. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
     
  8. squizzle

    squizzle Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    do they play fine on other players? Sometimes I've noticed that certain players get goofy with certain media towards the end, but that doesn't necessarily mean it's bad media or a bad burn. Try to play the movie on your computer using the burner drive. If the pixellation still happens, try different media.
     
  9. boom38

    boom38 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay, I put the DVD Collateral in the dvd rw, opend DVD shrink. Hit the re author button, drag just the movie over and it shows it is 4464mb and the green status bar is full. Can I make this smaller to be the 4300mb that you suggested?

    Let me know.
    Thanks
     
  10. squizzle

    squizzle Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    click Edit/Preferences, then change to Custom and type in 4300:

    [​IMG]
     
  11. jhs1886

    jhs1886 Guest

    I have the same problem. Some dvd players will not play at all but most just give me the stopping and skipping towards the end. I use dvd-shrink and anydvd. I have it set at 4300 and usually do movie only to reduce shrinkage but every dvd I burn does it. I've tried everything mentioned except name brand blank media. Any more suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
     
  12. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Maybe it's time to try the named media..............
     
  13. boom38

    boom38 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    does it matter how much you compress, like if I want the full disc and compress it to 4300mb does it affect the quality?
     
  14. Potisgood

    Potisgood Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah I have a problem with the skipping and stuff also. But mine screws up anywhere in the movie. I've burned a few dvds that play the whole movie fine but most screw up. I burned Without A Paddle and when I played it in my dvd player most of the movie is screwed. But when I play it on my computer most of the movie is fine with a little skipping during the movie but alot more toward the end. I use DVD Shrink, DVD Decrypter, and an old version of Nero. And I use this cheap burner I bought at Wal Mart. Would making the overall size whatever smaller help my problem too or am I doing something wrong?
     
  15. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    YES YES YES el cheapo crappeo discs!

    [bold]BUY DECENT!!![/bold]

    your troubles will 99.9% be gone, like it was all a dream!!!

    =========================

    ' baabaa

    yes how did you guess? hehehe...
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2005
  16. Potisgood

    Potisgood Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Buy a new burner? Great...What would you recommend?
     
  17. squizzle

    squizzle Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I think he was recommending better media, not a different burner. It'd be logical to try a media fix before buying a new burner anyway.
     
  18. Potisgood

    Potisgood Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Oh I see
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2005
  19. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    yes my post was to say get some good branded media i use ritek go5

    not get a new burner!
     
  20. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    @rotary, it looks like you are trying to hack the planet according to your gif.......Lovely...........

    Yes, go down the media route, then if that fails, have a look at updating the firmware.........
     

Share This Page