1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Formatting a CD-R with Nero 7

Discussion in 'Nero discussion' started by driech, Apr 29, 2007.

  1. driech

    driech Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    How do you format a CD, CD-R using Nero 7?

    I'm running Vista and I need to format CD's for data
    backup.

    If I put an unformatted CD in the drive, everything just
    freezes as if it doesn't know what to do with it.

    No, don't tell me to go to the Windows Explorer and use the
    Burn icon. The dialog box does NOT appear as Vista's help
    file says it will.

    Nero 7's help file doesn't even mention formatting, it just
    assumes you already have one formatted.
     
  2. Thinone

    Thinone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what are you formatting a cd for? cd is the same as cd-r btw :0

    its not like a floppy disk that needed formatting?

    a cd rw (rewritable) may need erasing before using but not a cdr

    this is of course unless the cdr is being used like a continuous backup disc? there are certain programs that do use this. this will mean that the cdr is unreadable by an other device until you finalise it

    i havent got vista so not sure what it is you are trying to do

    just read through what you wrote again - all i think you are trying to do is just copy some stuff to a disc using nero - if thats all it is just drag the files you want to copy into the browser window in nero and then click burn it does everything it needs to at once
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2007
  3. driech

    driech Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the reply.

    Yes, all i want to do is copy some data to a CD.

    There must be another issue. When I use a CD, that hasn't been
    "formatted" it just sits there with the little blue circle.

    When I pull up information about the drive with the CD in it, it
    doesn't recognize there's anything in the drive.

    I have another older CD with data on it and it works fine.

    I was assuming that i had to format the CD prior to using it.

    Now i'm not sure what to think.

    Thanks,
     
  4. Thinone

    Thinone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    try reading this page

    silly question - you are sure the pc drive IS a writer?

    good luck read the above help page
     

Share This Page