1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem Fresh install Win7

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by Dan314, Mar 27, 2015.

  1. Dan314

    Dan314 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello :)
    I have a Dell Inspiron 1764 laptop with windows 7 home premium, 64-bit on it.
    Windows wont start anymore. An automatic system repair appears but it's unable to solve the problem.
    System restore (to an earlier date) doesnt work either.
    Booting in safe mode doesnt work.
    I can access the command prompt.
    I dont have the OS installation CD that usually comes with new computers.

    I have successfully installed "Hiren's boot cd" on a USB drive (Thanks to a tutorial I found). It has allowed me to retreive all my important files.
    I'd like to do a fresh install of Windows 7 now.
    I did this once in the past using an ISO image I installed on a USB drive, (as instructed in a tutorial). I activated the OS with the license key I found under my laptop. This worked perfectly.
    I' d like to do this again now but these ISO files are no longer available on the web for free.
    How can I do a clean install now? Is it possible with Hiren's boot cd?
    Beside's retreiving important files (Like pictures and documents) I don't know how to do anything else with Hiren's boot cd.
    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2015
  2. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,691
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
  3. Dan314

    Dan314 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi
    I dont think I m eligible for that download as my windows version is tied to my laptop.
    I mean I didnt purchase windows seperately, as a DVD
     
  4. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,691
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Maybe I don't understand what you are trying to do.... I take it as you need to reinstall win7 on your laptop? that means you have a key and can download the iso to reinstall. As in:
    And???
     
  5. Dan314

    Dan314 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for your reply
    Microsoft will only send the ISO file to customers who purchased windows OS seperately, on a DVD. Mine came with my laptop. Mine is OEM so I m not eligible. You seem to be claiming I can get this file? If so, I m surprised and need more help pls

    Here s the message I got after entering my product key in the link you provided:
    System Error
    We encountered a problem with the product key you provided. Please visit the Microsoft Support Contact Us page for assistance. Refer to Message Code.
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    A user can access
    the Windows Recovery
    Environment
    by pressing
    function key F8 during boot. F8
    will display the Advanced Boot
    Options
    screen. This is a
    different screen than the Boot
    Options
    screen where you select
    the desired boot device after
    pressing F12.
    The Advanced Boot Options
    screen displays a list of available
    troubleshooting options. The first item
    listed is Repair Your Computer. When
    you select Repair Your Computer, you
    will enter the Windows Recovery
    Environment
    .
    After logging on, the System Recovery
    Options
    screen displays the various
    recovery tools available.
    http://downloads.dell.com/Manuals/a...-and-recvry-mangr-v1.3_User's Guide_en-us.pdf
    F8 is the key to press the moment you turn the power on on newer Dell models. It will give you the option to restore the computer from a system image under the Advanced Boot Options.
    https://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20120316230612AAPgwle
     
  7. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,691
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    you are a gem, ddp.... i missed the oem part my bad:rolleyes:
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    I try to be a gem but not always.
     
  9. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,691
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    just a diamond in the rough....... really rough! hehe
     
  10. Dan314

    Dan314 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you for replying ddp

    I have tried the F8 button.
    "Repair your computer" doesnt work.
    neither does anything else there.
    I need this system image first. Where can I get it please?
    The link "2oldgeek" provided doesnt work because the version I wish to restore is OEM
     
  11. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    read chapter 8 in that pdf link if you haven't already.
     
  12. Dan314

    Dan314 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ddp
    I did read chapter 8
    "Dell backup and recovery" manager isnt on the list.
    As I found out here
    http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/laptop/f/3518/t/19385144 , the recovery option disappears after a recovery performedwith the DVD. I did a recovery with the DVD a while ago so I guess that s why I dont have access to the recoverypartition.

    I only have :
    Startup repair
    System restore
    system image recovery
    windows memory diagnostic
    command prompt
     
  13. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2015
  14. Dan314

    Dan314 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I did the recovery once with the DVD on this laptop. I used the ISO on the USB drive on another laptop if I remember correctly
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2015
  15. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    lost that dvd did you?
     
  16. Dan314

    Dan314 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the link. Seems like what I need except I dont have a "CI3" inspiron 1764. It s a "Dell Inspiron 1764" (french)
    Any Idea where I can get the ISO for that one please? :)
     
  17. Dan314

    Dan314 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just found the DVD and tried it: an error message appears while windows is installing.. I guess I still want to use an ISO image
     
  18. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what is the error message?
     
  19. Dan314

    Dan314 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It said an error occured and that the installation was cancelled. There was a number with a few zeros.
    I am currently using "DRevitalize" (On Hiren's boot CD)
    It s scanning my SSD drive for bad sectors and has already found 57 bad sectors. What do you think?
    Seems like this scan is gonna take a very long time..
    Does it make sense to perform this scan if I am going to reinstall the OS?
     
  20. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    can you bypass the scan? was the error message something like this? "STOP: 0X0000007B (0xF78d2524,0XC0000034,0X00000000, 0X00000000)"
     

Share This Page