1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP To Your Xbox Using Windows Explorer/Internet Explorer/FireFox

Discussion in 'Xbox - Software discussion' started by Mik3h, Oct 6, 2006.

  1. Mik3h

    Mik3h Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    FlashFXP trial time ran out? Can't spare cash right now?

    You can FTP to your Xbox by using Windows Explorer/Internet Explorer/Firefox

    Step One: Start by opening up either Windows Explorer(My Documents or any other area)/Internet Explorer/Firefox
    Step Two:Type in "ftp://xbox:xbox@192.168.0.2" without qoauation marks and replacing the IP Address/Login credentials with your own.

    As you can see, my details are as follows : "ftp://xbox:xbox@192.168.0.35" so I simply type this in and hit enter.

    [​IMG]

    As you can see, I can open up any window and type in the details. I will then be brought to a page similar to this :

    [​IMG]

    I can then transfer/overwrite/delete etc. files just as FlashFXP previously allowed me.

    -Mike
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2006
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. PAN5Y

    PAN5Y Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    wow Mik3h u know 2 much...lol
  4. Lethal_B

    Lethal_B Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,060
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Stuck as per nagging request of topic starter.
  5. Mik3h

    Mik3h Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ben is just annoyed because I phoned him at 3am asking him to sticky it ;)

    -Mike
  6. Venom5880

    Venom5880 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Heh, I think a lot of people would be annoyed if you called them at 3 am XD

    I always forget I can use Windows Explorer for FTP transfers. I usually just use CuteFTP and Quix for Xbox transfers.
  7. Evi1d33d

    Evi1d33d Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I prefer Windows Explorer over FlashFXP when comes to FTPing to the Xbox. Typing the FTP address everytime you want to access Xbox gets annoying so there's a tutorial that lets you create a shortcut: http://www.xbox-scene.com/articles/map-xp.php
  8. Mik3h

    Mik3h Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Good link, thanks!

    -Mike
  9. Sykotik81

    Sykotik81 Guest

    iight well i gotta question..

    is there a way to transfer files from the xbox to the pc n Vise Versa without a High-Speed internet connection and a router,hub or switch?

    if there is will you guys plz tell me ^_^
  10. hlp4me

    hlp4me Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well you are going to need your high speed connection, you can use a cross over cable to connect directly to your xbox. and if there is any other way I don't know about it.
  11. delta13

    delta13 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OK, so here is my problem, time and time again I have tried to ftp to my xbox, but it ALWAYS times out. I have done the crossover cable method, and I have tried this method(except I used the run line) and still nothing. Now, is it because my xbox is not connected to a tv set, or is it that because I have to unplug it to get it close to my computer, that I have to reset the date and time in the evox setup or xbmc dash(either way I have both). I am at a total loss of what is going on here. Tried flashfxp,cuteftp,and a few other out there to no avail.Oh ya, I shut down my Firewall, and already have my router port forwarded, so I don't think that is a prob either. And it its chipped, not softmodded
    Thanks
  12. hlp4me

    hlp4me Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Do you have your IP address on your computer and your xbox set properly
  13. Mik3h

    Mik3h Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    On XBMC go to settings > Then System. And check that it displays an IP address, if so, verify this in your FTP program. Or you may have to assign an IP address manually in "network connections".

    -Mike
  14. delta13

    delta13 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Done both, set my tcp/ip in my computer to 192.168.0.2 and my xbox is 192.168.0.1
    Made sure I saved both settings for each of them.
  15. hlp4me

    hlp4me Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well my xbox is softmoded and I used EvolutionX v+392, this is how I got mine setup.
    Setup Network-------Yes
    use Static IP----------yes
    IP--------------------------192.168.0.1
    Subnetmask-----------255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway-----192.168.0.1
    DNS----------------------192.168.0.1
    DNS----------------------192.168.0.1

    On my computer this is what mine look like.
    IP address-------------192.168.0.2
    Subnet mask----------255.255.255.0

    That is using a cross over cable to connect my computer and my xbox directly, you shouldn't have any problem at all

    and if you still do try @Mik3h suggestion above, that work for me too.
  16. JParkes

    JParkes Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yo ur desktop looks real nice, how u make ur PC to look like that?
  17. PAN5Y

    PAN5Y Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I think Mik3h is running windows vista....or Style xp can make it look like that as well

    But yea Mik3h like i said its a [bold]Great Tutorial[/bold]
    =P
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2006
  18. Mik3h

    Mik3h Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Hey, thanks Pan5y :) Yeah, I'm running "StyleXP" with "Windows Recall 6.0" theme :)

    -Mike
  19. PAN5Y

    PAN5Y Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    woops my bad yea style xp....lol i got confused flash xp what was i thinking let me edit that before i make more a fool of myself..lol
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2006
  20. cubix

    cubix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Have a little trouble lads, maybe you could help me out. Using windows explorer to ftp into my xbox with Evo running. Have no problems viewing Folder and files on the xbox but when I stick one of my games into the drive and then double click on D: it is showing nothing in that folder. Have tried a couple of games both original and backups. Just to add these games will play fine on the xbox.

    Cheers
  21. Mik3h

    Mik3h Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You may need to "refresh", do this by putting the disc in and pressing F5. Does your laser read games properly? and boot them up?

    -Mike

Share This Page