1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GCM to ISO help

Discussion in 'Nintendo Gamecube - General discussion' started by sirksam, Sep 30, 2006.

  1. sirksam

    sirksam Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What's the best program for converting GCM to ISO?
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. Venom5880

    Venom5880 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You don't have to convert GCM to iso...

    GCM is the extension for a GameCube image file popularized by GameCube scene releases. All you have to do is change the .gcm to .iso and you'll be fine.
  4. sirksam

    sirksam Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ah ok, thanks, hey also I was wondering what is the best program to burn gamecube ISO's is, I tried DVD Decrypter, but it says it's unsupported format ISO.
  5. Venom5880

    Venom5880 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Use ImgBrn or Nero Burning Rom instead.
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2006
  6. sirksam

    sirksam Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok thanks
  7. sirksam

    sirksam Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What do I do with ImgBurn to burn the game to a disc? I need some steps on how to do it and make it work, oh by the way, my gamecube is already modded so it plays copies.

    Thanks
  8. Venom5880

    Venom5880 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You use it the same way you'd use DVD Decrypter...

    You put the disc in, select a disc image, and select a burn speed. Then hit the write button...
  9. sirksam

    sirksam Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what speed though? I've tried 4x and it doesn't work
  10. Ripper

    Ripper Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    4x is usually the speed to go so it could be your media?

    What media are you using?

    **BTw i dont do GC modding so just trying to help out here lol**
  11. Venom5880

    Venom5880 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    If 4x isn't working, there are a couple things that could be happening.
    -Your burner doesn't support 4x write speeds.
    -Your media doesn't support 4x write speeds.

    Chances are, it's just your media. ImgBurn is good about not burning faster than the rated speed of the media, so if your media is only rated at say, 2x, and you select 4x, it'll only burn at 2x. It won't stop the burn completely, but it will only cap at the media's rated speed regardless of what you choose.

    So basically, I'm agreeing with Ripper. In term's of burning media, there really aren't any different burning practices for different optical devices. Which is why regardless of what you're burning, be it a movie, Xbox game, or PS2 game, pretty much everyone is going to say 4x. If the rated speed is 4x or lower, than use half the rated speed unless you're using both a good burner and good media, in which case the max speed will be fine.
  12. sirksam

    sirksam Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hmmm it didn't work, in the end, I ended up using Nero 6, and it worked! Thanks for your help alot though.

Share This Page