1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Got a Problem

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by 1ceCold, Jul 9, 2007.

  1. 1ceCold

    1ceCold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Don't know if you guys remember me. I put the External Drive in my computer and it seemed to me running great. Now, When I access files from it sometimes it bogs down to the point where it almost freezes. This is really annoying and I dont know how to fix it. Someone please help! Thank you, James
     
  2. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Have you checked the obvious? USB cable, port etc? Is it fragmented?
    Is there anything else accessing the drive when you're transferring files to it?
     
  3. 1ceCold

    1ceCold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nope. I put it in the pc. Everything is hooked up correctly. Its in DMA not PIO. And the only thing running is my anti-virus.
     
  4. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Of course you did, sorry. As for that, don't know, never experienced it. There may be something wrong with the drive?
     
  5. 1ceCold

    1ceCold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah thats what im assuming but i really don't want to buy a new one.
     
  6. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    That's what warranties are for!
     
  7. 1ceCold

    1ceCold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You shouldve told me that before I opened the case. O-well, Everyone makes mistakes. I think its just this computer though. Its a 1.6, Im use to using a 3.0.
     
  8. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Lol never mind. Believe it or not that product's probably still replaceable, all they ask for is the drive's serial number and they'll replace it for you. WD and Seagate do this, and most other companies should too. As long as the drive's under 3 years old, you should be able to send the hard disk back without the enclosure.
     
  9. 1ceCold

    1ceCold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah, Its only like 8 months old or so. But i have alot of stuff on it i want to save.
     
  10. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Backups?
     

Share This Page