1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hard Drive Help

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Ken_FOTNS, May 6, 2012.

  1. Ken_FOTNS

    Ken_FOTNS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi there,

    I have a old pc im trying to get running again, just for lite internet use.
    I brought a new hard drive of ebay for it as other one was corrupt.
    But when i try to install windows on it i get this message ........

    "windows cannot be installed to this disk.
    this computer's hardware may not support booting
    to this disk. Ensure that the disks controller in enabled
    in the computers BIOS menu."

    If it help, the PC is a

    :packard Bell ixtreme Gold MC 2107

    any other info, let me know, and thanks for any help and advice in advance.
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    does the bios see the hard drive?
     
  3. Ken_FOTNS

    Ken_FOTNS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    not sure, how would i check that? by looking at bios screen or maybe going into bios setup?
     
  4. Ken_FOTNS

    Ken_FOTNS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ive gone in to the bios setup, and to ide advance, and selected auto detection on hdd, it has come up with a 160gb hard drive which i have put in, so i guess it has detected it?

    the settings of the hard drive are on AUTO for both 'access mode' and 'ide primary master' configuration
     
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    how old is the pc? what is the make & model# of the pc or motherboard? did you delete the partition if there was 1 & create a new partition then format the drive before trying to load windows? what windows are you trying to use?
     

Share This Page