1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Having trouble backing up DVDs, won't play back

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by HorrorNut, Mar 19, 2005.

1. HorrorNut

HorrorNut Member

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to backing up my DVDs. I recently tried backing up Spoorloos and Black Demons as my first two attempts. I used DVD Decypted to copy them to my hard drive and then DVD Shrink to burn them to DVD. Spoorloos didn't need shrunk at all but Black Demons did, just slightly.

I went to play both to see how it worked. Spoorloos freezes 19 minutes in and the player shuts off. Black Demons gets stuck about 9 minutes in. I try to fast forward past the spot but it doesn't work. I can jump to the next chapter, about 16 minutes in. I haven't tried watching it after that to see if it sticks elsewhere.

Does anyone have any ideas on what I might be doing wrong? Everything seemed to be going to well but now I find out it hasn't worked at all.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Tom

2. HorrorNut

HorrorNut Member

Oh, and I wanted to add that my player can play DVD-R's and I've never had any trouble playing any before that other people loaned me.

Thanks!

3. saugmon

saugmon Senior member

What is your burner brand name and model #?
    What is the brand name and speed rate of your blank discs?
    How fast did you burn that backup disc?

4. HorrorNut

HorrorNut Member

My burner is a NEC DVD_RW ND2500A. I've used it a lot to burn DVDs of my own movies and have never had any trouble, including one I burned after Spoorloos.

The media I used for both of these is Maxell DVD-R and they're 8x DVDs.

I believe I burned at 4x, but it might have been 8. I'll check it out a sec and see if I can find out for sure. Be back in a minute.

Thanks!

Tom

5. HorrorNut

HorrorNut Member