1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HEELP!!! ARRRG!!!! Pioneer A05 for Macintosh?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by MacHac, Jan 22, 2003.

1. MacHac

MacHac Guest

Okay, I am a newbie okay. And like um, I ugh... well let me just spell it out. I'm on a Macintosh. I want to install a Pioneer AO5 on my Mac and I have several questions. The drive is IDE ATTAPI, will I be able to simply pull my DVD player out and simply put the DVDR in and it work without any software like my DVD player that came with my mac? Will my mac recognize it?

Two, I want to be able to record DVD for purposes of removing stuff on my Mac G3 Blue and White Yosemite model (looks like a G4) will it work with my chip on the G3?

When I get it in, presuming it works, APPLES 9.2 has something on the system software that says BURNER. I take it I will still need Software for burning on the mac. Any ideas as to what software I will need to burn DVD's not movies, just data to store and be able to archive for later usage, what Software with the mac?

Also any idea where I can get one with MAC software included as I see it ships with IBM software only?

And thanks!

MacHac.

2. HomerJ

HomerJ Moderator Staff Member

MacHac,

Sorry to read about your MAC problem (lol)

Seriously though, the pioneer 105 is fine for the Mac, I know of several proffesionals who use it with no problems.

However, that's as far as my knowledge goes, I'm sure a lot depends on the software that comes supplied in the box.

Good hunting.

HomerJ

3. MacHac

MacHac Guest

you call it an 105, not an AO5, how come?

4. HomerJ

The A105 is a bare bones machine, brown plain box, no software etc.

The A05 is the "normal" retail unit, fancy box, burning software etc.

HomerJ

5. MacHac

MacHac Guest