1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help for someone new please

Discussion in 'Audio' started by t_kaay, Jan 24, 2005.

1. t_kaay

t_kaay Member

hi, wonderin if someone could help me please...i'm new to all this so please be gentle!!
    I'm trying to copy an audio cd onto my laptop harddrive in order to later copy onto an mp3 player.....i've come across 2 original cd's which are not recognised by windows media player or any other player as an audio player and as such I can't even play them. I've looked thro the site etc, used clony to see if there is any protection but this shows no protection. Both cd's are released by the same company (replay music) and the discs state sony licences. Don't know if that helps. If I try to copy the disc I get read errors.

Also, for my other working cd's, which setting should I be using to save them...i seem to have a choice in win media player, something about variable bit rate or a slider to set at a specific rate.

sorry, as i said, i'm new to all this, please help.....thanks

2. t_kaay

t_kaay Member

Just re read the above and to clarify.....the 2 cd's that won't copy/convert are brand new originals whill WILL play perfectly in the car or any normal cd player, just not pc

3. djscoop

djscoop Active member

the CDs you are having trouble with are probably copy protected. Check out this thread for more details about how to rip them:
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/70597

As for ripping CDs to your HD, I would recommend using EAC and LAME, as they make the best sounding mp3s. Steer clear of windows media. Download winamp. Its the single best mp3 player there is. And all the about software is free. Here is the guide to download and setup EAC:
    http://www.afterdawn.com/guides/archive/mydeneaclame.cfm

4. t_kaay

t_kaay Member