1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with a simple batch file

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by klassic, Jan 10, 2008.

1. klassic

klassic Regular member

I set up a simple batch file in windows to create a file that lists the names of all files in a folder. I added it to the action list for folders so I can run this on any folder at any time. Here is the code from my batch file:

Code:
    @echo off 
       dir %1 /-p /b /o:gn >File-List.txt
       exit
    Is there any way that I can add the folder name to the beginning of the created file name? IE if I run this on a folder "Downloads" the resulting file name would be "Downloads-File-List.txt"

I use this forum for everything else, so I hope someone can help. Or if someone knows a better forum to post this type of question please let me know.

2. omnicore

omnicore Member

I'm no expert but I don't think it's possible to do what you want with a simple batch file, it'll probably require writing a vb script.

3. varnull

varnull Guest

It's easy but I can't remember exactly how.. you need to get the directory name, and assign it to $dir_name.. then cd to the working directory, run your batchfile and output >$dir_name File-List.txt

or have I got confused with C++ ?? It's been a really long time since I did and dos batchfile stuff... There are books and guides all over the place about dos batchfile functions.. I do know you don't need anything like visual basic to do this... because we were doing it long before there was such a thing.

4. omnicore

omnicore Member

The challenge though is that he added it to his "action menu" which I believe he means when he right clicks on a folder he wants to run it from there. Last I remembered there wasn't too much right clicking going on in DOS

5. klassic

klassic Regular member