1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Home Networking Problem...with Win XP

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by aXc, Sep 14, 2003.

1. aXc

aXc Member

Hi...I'm a novice and I can't seem to get my workgroup working (i have it set so that I have a wireless router that is connected to my cable internet connection, and I have a desktop computer connected to that using an ethernet cable. The other computer i have is a wireless laptop (w/ toshiba wireless LAN mini PCI card)) I ran the "network setup wizard" on both computers, and chose "this computer is connected to internet through hub" option for both...the strange result right now is that - i CAN connect to my laptop using my desktop by "\\laptop", however, on my laptop, i can't seem to connect to my desktop. And when i view workgroup computers on my laptop i SEE the desktop computer...but when i connect, i get the "\\desktop is not accessible, you might not have permisssion...the network path was not found" message. Can anyone please help me? (BTW, i did disable the firewall in the local area connection setting on my desktop, and as well as on my wireless network connection on my laptop)

Thanks! I really appreciate your help =)

2. aXc

aXc Member

oh...actually...i only get the "not accessible" message when i click on "desktop" in view workgroup computers. If i type \\desktop in the address bar, i get the "windows cannot find '\\desktop'..." message...
    and i should mention as well ....that i CAN'T get a ping from the laptop on the desktop, while i CAN get a ping from desktop to laptop =(

Last edited: Sep 14, 2003
  3. Easycola

Easycola Regular member

Few things to clarify.
    Both pc's using XP as OS?
    You have created user account on xp which is same as other pc uses to log in to lan and created permissions to that account as well?

Also, you might want to browse few sites: