1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I burn Sony or Lionsgate dvds?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by datboytaz, Jan 20, 2007.

  1. datboytaz

    datboytaz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I can't burn any sony or lionsgate films, no matter what software I use, either using anydvd/clonedvd2 or DVD Decrypter then DVD Shrink. Can some one give me a few pointers of what software I can use or how to use the ones I have if I'm doing it wrong. Thanks.
     
  2. FFsp42

    FFsp42 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm having the same problem with Crank. I have used AnyDVD for almost 8 months and this is the first time I have had an issue with a DVD. I usually just use DVD Shrink 3.2 with AnyDVD 6.1.0.7 in the background, but this one doesn't seem to work right. I have even tried DVDFabDecrypter 3.0.5.5 without success.
    I tried RipIt4Me with FixVTS and DVD Decrypter and I keep getting an error message at the end saying that "some of the bad sectors were found not to be protected" and that I should try to clean my disk and rerun. The problem is that this is a brand new disk, no smudges, fingerprints, or scratches noticed. I even tried to clean my DVD burner, without success.
    When using DVD Shrink, the "cyclic redundancy" error appears during analysis, not during the actual backup.
    It seems that we are the only ones having this problem so far, as everyone else in other threads are saying they are backing up flawlessly.
    Has anyone else encountered this problem and been able to work around it?
     
  3. geburuh

    geburuh Regular member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Rip to Hard drive w/ DVDDecrypter w/ ANY DVD running on toolbar.
    Burn w/ CloneDVD2
     
  4. FFsp42

    FFsp42 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Tried that method here....same result. Here's DVDDecrypter's log:

    I 17:49:01 DVD Decrypter Version 3.5.4.0 started!
    I 17:49:01 Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600 : Service Pack 2)
    W 17:49:01 Drive D:\ (FAT32) does not support single files > 4 GB
    I 17:49:01 Initialising SPTI...
    I 17:49:01 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
    I 17:49:01 Found 1 CD-ROM, 1 CD-RW and 1 DVD±RW!
    W 17:49:02 Possible Structure Protection Found!
    W 17:49:02 5 areas have been marked as 'suspect'.
    W 17:49:02 Dummy sectors will be inserted where necessary.
    I 17:49:08 Operation Started!
    I 17:49:08 Source Device: [0:0:0] SONY DVD RW DRU-710A BYX5 (I:) (USB)
    I 17:49:08 Source Media Type: DVD-ROM
    I 17:49:08 Source Media Region Code: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
    I 17:49:08 Source Media Copyright Protection System Type: None
    I 17:49:08 Source Media Implementation Identifier: DVDAfterEdit
    I 17:49:08 Destination Folder: C:\Crank\VIDEO_TS\
    I 17:49:08 File Splitting: By File
    I 17:49:08 Remove Structure Protection: Yes
    I 17:49:08 Bad Sector Removal Method: Normal
    I 17:49:08 Detect Mastering Errors: No
    I 17:49:08 Multi Angle Processing: No
    I 17:49:08 Remove Macrovision Protection: Yes
    I 17:49:08 Stream Processing: No
    I 17:49:08 Copying VIDEO_TS.IFO... (LBA: 355 - 366) - KEY: N/A
    I 17:49:08 Copying VIDEO_TS.VOB... (LBA: 367 - 423) - KEY: N/A
    I 17:49:08 Copying VIDEO_TS.BUP... (LBA: 424 - 435) - KEY: N/A
    I 17:49:08 Copying VTS_01_0.IFO... (LBA: 436 - 484) - KEY: N/A
    I 17:49:08 Copying VTS_01_0.VOB... (LBA: 485 - 163799) - KEY: N/A
    I 17:50:13 Copying VTS_01_1.VOB... (LBA: 163800 - 688086) - KEY: N/A
    I 17:52:54 Copying VTS_01_2.VOB... (LBA: 688087 - 1212373) - KEY: N/A
    I 17:55:06 Copying VTS_01_3.VOB... (LBA: 1212374 - 1736660) - KEY: N/A
    I 18:02:10 Copying VTS_01_4.VOB... (LBA: 1736661 - 2065334) - KEY: N/A
    I 18:04:11 Copying VTS_01_0.BUP... (LBA: 2065335 - 2065383) - KEY: N/A
    I 18:04:11 Copying VTS_02_0.IFO... (LBA: 2084960 - 2084996) - KEY: N/A
    I 18:04:11 Copying VTS_02_0.VOB... (LBA: 2084997 - 2085053) - KEY: N/A
    I 18:04:12 Copying VTS_02_1.VOB... (LBA: 2085054 - 2609340) - KEY: N/A
    E 18:11:41 Failed to read Sector 2496622 - L-EC Uncorrectable Error
    E 18:11:43 Failed to copy VTS_02_1.VOB!

    Should note that this occurs at 53% of completion.
     
  5. geburuh

    geburuh Regular member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Did you try ANY DVD Ripper?
     
  6. FFsp42

    FFsp42 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yep....read error at 38%. AnyDVD version 6.1.0.7
     
  7. Rob1026

    Rob1026 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    with the help of slysoft.com
     
  8. FFsp42

    FFsp42 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Not sure what you mean? Have I contacted Slysoft? No, I'm trying to exhaust other avenues first.
     
  9. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Along with a lot of others, I've been having good luck with RipIt4Me. Completely freeware. It's a macro using DVD Shrink, DVD Decrypter, and FixVTS. It's been working good for me and my friends with the problem sony protection. It's been getting good reviews around the forums as well. http://www.ripit4me.org/guide.html Read the short guide and give it a spin.

    AnyDVD and CloneDVD2 will do the new releases as well. Some of them may only be able to be done in Movie only though. Try Movie Only and see if that helps the problem. Too many people have been successful with the Slysoft software for it to be a serious software problem. Only some of the very latest releases have been causing Slysoft problems.

    By the way, RI4M gives the warning, but I'll mention it anyway, Ripit4Me and AnyDVD will not work together, so turn off AnyDVD when using RipIt4Me.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2007
  10. geburuh

    geburuh Regular member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    @FFsp42
    Are you running an external drive on E-Machine?
    If so, try reinstall on different USB.
     
  11. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    What does that have to do with the new copy protections?
     
  12. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    FFsp42
    Your particular problem sounds like one I've run into personally. A flawed press will sometimes cause problems recording. Run a read test on the disc, if you have the software utilities. DVDInfoPro is freeware that can do it. If you get a bunch of bad sectors on the read, that could be your problem. If you can return the disc and try another. It's not unknown to have a bunch of flawed presses in the same batch. These will play, but not record, so the manufacturer isn't screening them out.

    geburuh
    My bad on the last post. External drives are more prone to cyclic redundancy errors, but not usually isolated to a particular DVD.
     
  13. FFsp42

    FFsp42 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Success!!!
    After trying several avenues, I finally found one that worked. I should kick myself for not thinking of it earlier. What I did was run the original DVD through VOBBlanker 2.1.0.0 while AnyDVD 6.1.0.7 was running the background, then took those files with DVDShrink 3.2 and it worked.
    Datboytaz, you may try this method for your issues also. While I don't know if this will work for all of these related issues, nor do I understand why it worked when AnyDVD or RipIt4Me didn't and most everyone had no problem with it, I had success with it in this particular instance. I guess some of us have worse luck than others!
    Good Luck!
     
  14. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You edited the part that caused your problem. I run a rescue utility when I encounter a similar problem. Different ways, but still sounds like a flawed disc.
     
  15. trublue01

    trublue01 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i used dvdfab and got crank to work fine
     
  16. deoblo

    deoblo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i used clonedvd2 and anydvd with no problem try to update and click off the directors commentary.
     
  17. HenryHawk

    HenryHawk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hope there's still someone watching this.

    I ripped Crank with no problems. Used DVD Fab Decrypter.

    I shrank Crank. DVD Shrink. No problems.

    I burned Crank. Without a problem. Used Nero.

    However, I burned it 3 times. It won't play on Windows Media Player.
    My DVD player won't boot it up. The files are there. But it won't play. I've never had this problem before.

    Anyone seen this before? Any suggestions?
     
  18. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    What version of DVDFab Decrypter did you use?
     
  19. deoblo

    deoblo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I started using dvd next copy it works great !!!! and any dvd with clonedvd2 ripped crank fine no problem has anyone heard about the root bit sony dvd are starting to have is that true or false i heard it was on the illusionist.
     
  20. HenryHawk

    HenryHawk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    3.0.4.0

    I didn't have any probs with it. My friend did, but he was using a much older version.

    Did it not do something that a newer version would have?
     

Share This Page