1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how do i reset dvd rom region

Discussion in 'DVD-ROM drives' started by chriso, Mar 24, 2004.

  1. chriso

    chriso Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have just had a dvd-rom installed in my toshiba 4600 and after watching about 5 dvd films the dvd set itself to one region and i am unable to reset it or watch anymore movies, any solutions? help me!!!
     
  2. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    What OS are you using? You can double click the drive in Device Manager and change the region there in XP.
     
  3. ogryzek

    ogryzek Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You may want to (remove the drive out of the laptop and) verify part number (model number) of that drive. Once you know that, go to:
    http://forum.rpc1.org/dl_all.php
    find Toshiba, browse thru 'DVD-ROM (Laptop)' / 'Combo CDRW/DVD (Laptop)' / 'DVD-Recorder (Laptop)' sections to find your unit. If you find RPC-1 (region free) firmware you are lucky. If you don't... assuming that you use Windows you may always try one of many 'region-free' software utilities (for starters try
    http://www.dvdidle.com/dvd-region-free.htm )
    Of course you may try region-free software first ~ especially if you do not feel so strong about re-flashing your drive (as your warranty goes out of the window).
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Life is what happens to you while you're out doing something else...[/small]
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2004
  4. Diagas

    Diagas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi, i have a HL-DT-ST DVD-ROM GDR8161B on my dektop (packard Bell iMedia), but changed it's regional code from 2 to 1 and vice - verso for about 5 times, so it has now got locked to region 2 and i cannot change it anymore. any solutions without working on the hardware!can u please make it a bit fast!
     
  5. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    You can search the web and see if a "hacked" firmware is available for your drive, which will make it region free, but you run the chance of ruining your drive if you get a bad one.

    Alternatively, there are software solutions as well such as DVD Idle.

    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]
    "Common sense is a dying concept" - Me[/small]
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2004
  6. Diagas

    Diagas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    oh, thanx, and how do u know if that firmware is a good one or not and any suggestions for those website?, thanx!
     
  7. ogryzek

    ogryzek Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Diagas
    "any suggestions for those website?" <- carefully read all of the above posts (hint: start with mine)
     

Share This Page