1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to change region setting for dvd-rom?

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by mac_t13, Dec 17, 2011.

  1. mac_t13

    mac_t13 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I've change the region of my dvd drive for 5 times and now they prompt me I can't change it anymore!

    Anyway to break it and change to region-free?

    Thank you.
     
  2. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,011
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    78
    would be better to add to title to better reflect the issue to something like
    how to change region setting for dvd-rom? max resets reached,you also neglected to say what drive


    dvdfab or anydvd can read any disc from any region regardless of dvd player setting,set either program to region free or set remove region setting or such like
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2011
  3. ps355528

    ps355528 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    48
    you can always flash the firmware.. there are updated firmwares even for dvd-rom drives.
     
  4. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,011
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    78
    ps355528,does that reset the region setting crap so if there is no update the op could simply get the std firmware & reflash & all will be good,that'd be handy to know is all
     
  5. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    I have a burner that I tried to flash region free.
    It flashed, but it didn't do anything as far as region settings.
    When it had one change left, I flashed it back to the original firmware - but I still have only one change left.

    OTOH, I did flash a rom drive successfully to region free.
     

Share This Page