1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hows this prebuilt?

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by dragnandy, Jan 20, 2008.

  1. dragnandy

    dragnandy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    At first i was going to build my own, but that was postphoned, and now i saw this prebuilt, which is not that bad in my opinion. and i want to know what are your opinions.

    PROCESSOR Intel® Core™2 Q6600 Quad-Core (8MB L2 cache,2.4GHz,1066FSB)

    MEMORY 3GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 667MHz - 4 DIMMs

    MONITORS 20 inch SP2008WFP Wide Flat Panel with Webcam and Mic

    VIDEO CARD 128MB ATI Radeon HD 2400 PRO

    Total-~1000.00

    I know that the video card isnt good, so im also going to get an HD3850. The monitor is also around 200 USD. The only thing i dont like about buying prebuilt is the motherboard and the video card,maybe power supply. But im not going to overclock this, so i dont think id need a high-end PSU. im also wondering if the processor will be better than a Core 2 duo E6750.
     
  2. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ok, you're right on the graphics card. Getting a 3850 would be much better than that 2400 - much better!

    For the PSU, a Corsair 520 is the best for the price/reliability, and you will find that many people recommend it.

    Also, the Q6600 being a quad core CPU, is way better than any duel core CPU, simply because it has 2 more cores.
     
  3. dragnandy

    dragnandy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    would a stock psu be fine if im not going to overclock?
     
  4. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Absolutely not. If you were leaving the entire system stock, there'd be no harm in it, but if you're putting in a graphics card that uses three times as much power as the last one, you could well have problems. I'd highly recommend getting a new unit, even if it is only a Corsair VX 450W. That would suffice for a 3850.
    Make sure you really want this PC, $1250+ is a lot of money for a PC of this spec.
     
  5. dragnandy

    dragnandy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so if i get a 3850, what kind of psu would be recommended, if im not overclocking?
     
  6. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  7. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Agreed. The VX units are excellent.
     
  8. dragnandy

    dragnandy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks for the psu. sorry to ask but if i do decide to OC, how much watts should the psu be? or which should i get?
     
  9. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    If you're going to overclock the nuts off the system, go with the 550W VX rather than the 450. Your system still won't max out the 450, but it'll leave some headroom so the unit isn't overworked and you've got space for upgrades.
     

Share This Page