1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I can't ftp to xbox

Discussion in 'Xbox - General discussion' started by truant, Feb 13, 2005.

  1. truant

    truant Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I know my xbox can properly communicate with my pc since I was playing on xboxconnect earlier. But for some reason, I can't get flashxp to connect to it.

    Is it absolutely necessary to use the 192.168.0.1
    ip address for your pc? If so, where would I change those settings?

    I'm currently using 192.168.1.1. I tried changing it in the lan settings in Network Connections, and in the set up page for my router, but both resulted in me being unable to connect to the internet.

    Also, I noticed the ip adress of the xbox is labled as 192.169.0.35 in EvoX. Does that matter any?

    Any help appreciated.
     
  2. shdwsfall

    shdwsfall Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Firstly, make sure you are running evox off your HDD...not a cd.

    then:

    You xbox IP: Set this to whatever you want. This is the IP you will type in FlashFXP to connect to.

    Xbox Default Gateway: This address must be the exact same as your computers IP address.

    Subnet MAsk: 255.255.255.0

    ---------------------------

    Just make sure your xbox's default gateway is the same as your PC's IP.

    Then OPen FlashFXP.

    Go to the Quick Connect menu.

    In the Server/URL box type your xbox's IP

    User Name, type: xbox

    Password, type: xbox

    Make sure you plug in the crossover cable to your xbox, then power the xbox on. (If you power the xbox on before you plug in the cables it wont work.)

    Make sure the xbox has booted up to the Evox Dash.

    Click connect on FlashFXP.

    That should do it, If it still doesnt work, then it could be the cables you are using. If you are not connected through a hub of some sort, and your cable goes directly from your pc to your xbox then you need a crossover cable.
     
  3. monte530

    monte530 Guest

    How does one make sure one is booted up to Evol Dash?

    Thanks for any reply.
     
  4. shdwsfall

    shdwsfall Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  5. monte530

    monte530 Guest

    mine has a red emblem on the top left hand side which has a large X in it but it does say.. Evolution X V-3935
    after the skin comes....

     
  6. Quadratic

    Quadratic Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    No, but it is easier.
     
  7. Quadratic

    Quadratic Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    No, but it is easier.
     
  8. Spyder22

    Spyder22 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i was having the same problem so used these settings for my xbox...

    IP=192.168.1.101
    Subnet=255.255.255.0 (Leave it alone It SHOULD be set to this automaticly.)
    Gateway=192.168.1.1


    Use these settings for your pc

    IP=192.168.1.100
    Subnet=255.255.255.0
    Gateway=192.168.1.1

    PM me if these setting dont work
     
  9. Spyder22

    Spyder22 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i was having the same problem so used these settings for my xbox...

    IP=192.168.1.101
    Subnet=255.255.255.0 (Leave it alone It SHOULD be set to this automaticly.)
    Gateway=192.168.1.1


    Use these settings for your pc

    IP=192.168.1.100
    Subnet=255.255.255.0
    Gateway=192.168.1.1

    PM me if these setting dont work
     
  10. truant

    truant Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks, spyder. Worked like a charm.
     
  11. chaos321

    chaos321 Guest

    hi,
    can you help me with my problem im trying to connect with a crossover cable i have avalaunch on a version 1.6 crystal xbox with xecuter 2 modchip and a 1.0mb flashed bios here are my settings can you help what am i doing wrong? : Pc
    IP: 192.168.1.100
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1

    Xbox Network

    Type:
    IP: 0.0.0.0
    Line Status: 100/Full Duplex
    Ethernet Mac Address 00:50:F2:4B:BE:E0
    Setup Network: Yes
    Use Static IP: Yes
    IP: 192.168.1.101
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1
    DNS: Leave Alone
    DNS: Leave Alone
    Setup Delay: 5
    Ftping is also Enabled

    The Crossover Cable Im Using is: http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pr...0&sku_id=0665000FS10044146&catid=&newdeptid=2

    Is this a good one? please help!!!!

    THANXS!!


     
  12. shdwsfall

    shdwsfall Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Your settings are messed up...

    Change your settings to this:

    PC:
    IP: 192.168.1.100
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1
    (your current PC settings are fine)


    Xbox:
    IP: 192.168.1.101
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 192.168.1.100

    (Notice how the Xbox's Default Gateway needs to be the EXACT same as the PC's IP address!)
    ----------------------------------------


    You also must have the crossover cable inserted BEFORE you turn your xbox on!


    If this is your first time using Evox, and you are booting it off of a CD, then You will need to burn a new cd to change the xbox's settings.
    I know you can go into the Evox settings and change stuff around, but it will not take efect, as it is trying to save your settings to the CD...and the xbox cannot write to a CD :p


    So if you are booting off of a CD then:

    A: Make a new Evox boot disk with the following in the network settings:
    IP: 192.168.1.101
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 192.168.1.100

    or


    B: If you change your PC's IP address to: 192.168.1.1
    Then your current Evox settings should work.
    ---------------------------------------------------


    Once you have everything turned on, then:

    Open FlashFXP

    Click on the lightning bolt icon for the quick connect menu

    For the address enter in you Xbox's IP address.

    For username, enter: xbox
    For password, enter: xbox

    Click connect, and it should work!
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2005
  13. chaos321

    chaos321 Guest

    thanxs alot man it worked!!
     
  14. dhaniyo

    dhaniyo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Whenever my xbox comes up, it takes me to a menu with x3 config and other tools. What do I have to do to be able to connect to pc or even install some type of dash?
     
  15. best1973

    best1973 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello I am having the same problem as well. How do I create a disk using the setting on my CPU in the network connections:
    IP Address: 192.168.0.226
    Subnetmask: 255.255.255.0
    Assigned by DHCP
    This is really trying my patience. I would appreciate any help.
     
  16. dhaniyo

    dhaniyo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  17. best1973

    best1973 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I will try. I think I may have had the wrong cord. you are the man or woman. I will let you know how it turned out soon.
     
  18. best1973

    best1973 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The cord worked Thank you for all of your help. It took me 2 wks to figure it out but it worked. Thank You.
     
  19. dhaniyo

    dhaniyo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You are welcome, just help someone else out in turn...
     
  20. kraziebro

    kraziebro Guest

    im having the same problem as everyone else. however im trying to ftp through a evox boot disc.

    the settings are:
    IP: 192.168.1.200
    Subnetmask: 255.255.255.0
    DefaultGateway: 192.168.1.1

    Can anyone please help.
     

Share This Page