1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IBM ThinkPad T40 2373-72U

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by iani_2006, Jun 1, 2007.

  1. iani_2006

    iani_2006 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I just bought this laptop but it did not come with the drivers , I just installed a new windows and i do not have the drivers for all the things except the video card. Can any one help me to find the drivers and can anybody tell me how i can identify if it has a wireless network ?
     
  2. elokito

    elokito Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  3. iani_2006

    iani_2006 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks a lot they all worked great. appriciate it
     
  4. elokito

    elokito Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    no prob
     
  5. iani_2006

    iani_2006 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I also wanted to ask if i can increase the size of the VGA from 32mb to 64mb. Can i do that ?
     
  6. elokito

    elokito Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well in the bios u can if it lets u obviously
     
  7. iani_2006

    iani_2006 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i cant seem to find that option in the bios. does it mean that it can not be increased ?
     
  8. elokito

    elokito Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    nuthg like shared video memory appears? if not then the answer is no
     
  9. iani_2006

    iani_2006 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Nope nothin like that ok anyway thanks for that too. and can you explain how wireless lan works couse i am a newbie at that ?
     
  10. elokito

    elokito Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well what do u need to know about it to have wirelss u need dsl or cable then a wireless router and a pc that has wireless support
     
  11. iani_2006

    iani_2006 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok that i know but how does it work is it the same way as bluetooth ? whats the maximum distance ?
     
  12. elokito

    elokito Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    it works different than bluetooth since its faster also bluetooth could go up to 100meters while wireless g or n could go way further (if there isnt a lot of walls.
     
  13. iani_2006

    iani_2006 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Can you limit the range or it is fixed ?
     
  14. iani_2006

    iani_2006 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok now i have the oportunity to change my processor. Which do you guys think is better:

    This mine

    Specification Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1500MHz
    Package Socket 479 mPGA (platform ID = 5h)
    CPUID 6.9.5
    Extended CPUID 6.9
    Brand ID 22
    Core Stepping B1
    Technology 0.13 um
    Core Speed 1495.0 MHz (15.0 x 99.7 MHz)
    Rated Bus speed 398.7 MHz
    Stock frequency 1500 MHz
    Instructions sets MMX, SSE, SSE2
    L1 Data cache 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    L1 Instruction cache 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    L2 cache 1024 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    FID/VID Control yes
    FID range 6.0x - 15.0x
    max VID 1.484V

    And this is the one i can get

    Specification Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.86GHz
    Package Socket 479 mPGA (platform ID = 5h)
    CPUID 6.D.8
    Extended CPUID 6.D
    Brand ID 22
    Core Stepping C0
    Technology 90 nm
    Core Speed 800.0 MHz (6.0 x 133.3 MHz)
    Rated Bus speed 533.3 MHz
    Stock frequency 1866 MHz
    Instructions sets MMX, SSE, SSE2
    L1 Data cache 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    L1 Instruction cache 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    L2 cache 2048 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    FID/VID Control yes
    FID range 6.0x - 14.0x
    max VID 1.356V
     
  15. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    can the board be upgraded cpu wise as is possible the cpu is soldered in place. also the voltage is different
     
  16. iani_2006

    iani_2006 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have not checked if i can remove them i will check that.
     

Share This Page