1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

INSTALL MAC OS X leopard in vmware!?!

Discussion in 'Mac - General discussion' started by GreekGeek, Mar 26, 2007.

  1. GreekGeek

    GreekGeek Guest

    hello i have not posted anything for a while so i thought i would post this i think i moght know how to boot os x leopard in vmware!

    here are the steps i recomend you dont try it until it is confirmed it works but it could give someone an idea on how to install leopard on x86 hardware now aswell as tiger!

    STEP 1 get alcohol 120%
    STEP 2 get vmware workstation/server
    STEP 3 get mac os x leopard install dvd
    STEP 4 create iso image of leopard install dvd
    STEP 5 mount the iso image in alcohol 120%
    STEP 6 start vmware go to create new virtual machine
    STEP 7 go through the steps and go through trial and error to see which ones better

    STEP 8 finish the create new virtual machine wizard
    STEP 9 configure extra options if needed
    STEP 10 go to your config file of your virtual machine where you stored it. OPEN IT IN NOTEPAD
    STEP 11 go to the line ide1:0.present = “TRUE”
    ide1:0.fileName = “n:”
    ide1:0.deviceType = “cdrom-raw”
    STEP 12 where ide1:0.fileName = is replace the "n:" with your virtual drive letter
    STEP 13 overwrite the current file with the file you just edited by saving it with the same name and extension (.vmx)
    STEP 14 go back to vmware press start machine and if the procedure i writ is possible you should come to the leopard installer and choose your steps see if it works and vualla!
    AND FINALY STEP 15 IF ALL GOES WELL ENJOY! BUT!!! STILL I DOUBT THIS WOULD WORK BUT IT COULD GIVE SOME ONE A START TO LEARING TO INSTALL LEOPARD ON X86 HARDWARE! :)
     
  2. tabletpc

    tabletpc Guest

    or just partition a external hard drive into a guid partition format using disk utility and install leopard on it much easyer and you can dual boot operating systems
     
  3. onehanded

    onehanded Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    MMX, SSE(1, 2, 3, 3S,), EM64T.dual core 1.8ghz,2gb ram
    That shows up with cpu-z
    I just have a standard vga graphics adaptor
    intel pentium e2160
    is this compatible?
    Does anyone know?
    Thanks in advance
     
  4. oadbylad

    oadbylad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Theres more than one forum on this subject...and it does depend on what your cpu is
    Google Atkos
     
  5. ps355528

    ps355528 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    28
    and expect it not to work...
     
  6. oadbylad

    oadbylad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    LOL unless you like searching for the RIGHT kexts
     
  7. surajs1

    surajs1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    great info thanks
     

Share This Page