1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing OSx86 On My New AMD System

Discussion in 'Mac - General discussion' started by navskin, Feb 2, 2008.

  1. navskin

    navskin Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi i am a bit of a noob at installing osx86 but i have had it on my laptop for some time and it works perfect. so back to the topic. i am trying to install mac os x86 10.4.9 on my new amd system

    here are the specs

    AMD Athalon 64X2 4400+ 2.2GHZ
    3 GIG OR RAM
    SATA DVD ROM DRIVE
    ASROCK ALIVE NF6G (motherboard)
    Nvidia 7200gs
    80GIG IDE HARD DRIVE
    40 GIG SATA HARD DRIVE

    but i can even get into the installation screen with the apple logo and that thing sping round under it. i have acquiard a 10.4.6 install dvd form a friend if thats any help. but i need some help. i have tryed the vmware way but i get an error saying ebios block or somthing like that. i have never had an amd system my first time lol. so can someone send me in the right direction on how to install it and what tools i am going to need.

    thanks
     
  2. thegrunt

    thegrunt Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It only works on intel systems......
     
  3. navskin

    navskin Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    no it dosw it works on amd i have seend the forums around on the net but i have had it running on vmware but very good at all so i know it works.
     
  4. varnull

    varnull Guest

    piracy warning.. mac os-x is a commercial product.

    1. Download “tiger-x86.tar.bz2″ from a torrent site thar everywhere.

    2. After untaring copy the 6gig tiger-x86-flat.img to an external USB drive.

    3. Download Ubuntu Live CD, or anyother Linux live cd.

    4. Burn the ubuntu iso, stick it in your pc, and boot it! (make sure you have your bios set to boot to CD)

    5. Once ubuntu boots and the gui finally comes up, hook up the USB drive you copied the 6gb image to. A window should pop up showing the contents of the drive. Take note of where its mounted. It should be /Devicename/Yourdrivesvolumename

    6. Open a terminal window and cd to that directory (/Devices/Yourdrivesvolumename). Do an “ls” to make sure you are in the right place (you should see the 6gb img file.

    7. In the terminal window type:

    dd bs=1048576 if=./tiger-x86-flat.img of=/dev/hda

    Replace hda with the correct drive! If you only have one drive, its probably hda. Thats what mine was. You are about to erase this entire drive so make sure you’ve got it right and make sure you want to do this! Hit enter. It takes a while, with no progression notice be patient, it took 5 minutes for my setup.

    8. When it’s done, remove the ubuntu disc and shut down the pc. Disconnect your usb drive.

    9. Hit a button at the Darwin screen. Type “-s” and hit enter to boot into single user mode. At the command prompt screen type (if you don’t know what that is, just wait until nothing else scrolls):

    sh /etc/rc

    press enter then type

    passwd deadmoo

    It should prompt you for a new password.

    9. Done! Now reboot once more, and again use the “-x” option. Everything should boot, and at the login screen enter your new password.

    You will find.. no internet, and lots of other quite major problems like it will only see your graphics card as a 16mb vga device.. with no discoverable way to install the proper drivers..., apart from it being slow as a donkey..

    conclusion::.. don't bother.. install a proper 64 bit linux OS.

    (sorry for the bad spelling.. no worries.. I was just thinking it was posted from your intel cpu lappy running tiger :lol:)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2008
  5. navskin

    navskin Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hi and thanks for the info , i now have it boot nice on vmware but i am am going to give your idea a try and i will get back to you on , but something is puzzeling me about an error that i keep getting. its says the ACPI DRIVER is proventing the system sleeping i have had a look around on google and found that its something to do with the bois.

    can you shed any light on this for me and thanks for your help.
     
  6. varnull

    varnull Guest

    AMD64 specific boot options

    There are many others (usually documented in driver documentation), but
    only the AMD64 specific ones are listed here.

    Machine check

    mce=off disable machine check
    mce=bootlog Enable logging of machine checks left over from booting.
    Disabled by default on AMD because some BIOS leave bogus ones.
    If your BIOS doesn't do that it's a good idea to enable though
    to make sure you log even machine check events that result
    in a reboot. On Intel systems it is enabled by default.
    mce=nobootlog
    Disable boot machine check logging.
    mce=tolerancelevel (number)
    0: always panic on uncorrected errors, log corrected errors
    1: panic or SIGBUS on uncorrected errors, log corrected errors
    2: SIGBUS or log uncorrected errors, log corrected errors
    3: never panic or SIGBUS, log all errors (for testing only)
    Default is 1
    Can be also set using sysfs which is preferable.

    nomce (for compatibility with i386): same as mce=off

    Everything else is in sysfs now.

    APICs

    apic Use IO-APIC. Default

    noapic Don't use the IO-APIC.

    disableapic Don't use the local APIC

    nolapic Don't use the local APIC (alias for i386 compatibility)

    pirq=... See Documentation/i386/IO-APIC.txt

    noapictimer Don't set up the APIC timer

    no_timer_check Don't check the IO-APIC timer. This can work around
    problems with incorrect timer initialization on some boards.

    apicmaintimer Run time keeping from the local APIC timer instead
    of using the PIT/HPET interrupt for this. This is useful
    when the PIT/HPET interrupts are unreliable.

    noapicmaintimer Don't do time keeping using the APIC timer.
    Useful when this option was auto selected, but doesn't work.

    apicpmtimer
    Do APIC timer calibration using the pmtimer. Implies
    apicmaintimer. Useful when your PIT timer is totally
    broken.

    disable_8254_timer / enable_8254_timer
    Enable interrupt 0 timer routing over the 8254 in addition to over
    the IO-APIC. The kernel tries to set a sensible default.

    Early Console

    syntax: earlyprintk=vga
    earlyprintk=serial[,ttySn[,baudrate]]

    The early console is useful when the kernel crashes before the
    normal console is initialized. It is not enabled by
    default because it has some cosmetic problems.
    Append ,keep to not disable it when the real console takes over.
    Only vga or serial at a time, not both.
    Currently only ttyS0 and ttyS1 are supported.
    Interaction with the standard serial driver is not very good.
    The VGA output is eventually overwritten by the real console.

    Timing

    notsc
    Don't use the CPU time stamp counter to read the wall time.
    This can be used to work around timing problems on multiprocessor systems
    with not properly synchronized CPUs.

    report_lost_ticks
    Report when timer interrupts are lost because some code turned off
    interrupts for too long.

    nmi_watchdog=NUMBER[,panic]
    NUMBER can be:
    0 don't use an NMI watchdog
    1 use the IO-APIC timer for the NMI watchdog
    2 use the local APIC for the NMI watchdog using a performance counter. Note
    This will use one performance counter and the local APIC's performance
    vector.
    When panic is specified panic when an NMI watchdog timeout occurs.
    This is useful when you use a panic=... timeout and need the box
    quickly up again.

    nohpet
    Don't use the HPET timer.

    Idle loop

    idle=poll
    Don't do power saving in the idle loop using HLT, but poll for rescheduling
    event. This will make the CPUs eat a lot more power, but may be useful
    to get slightly better performance in multiprocessor benchmarks. It also
    makes some profiling using performance counters more accurate.
    Please note that on systems with MONITOR/MWAIT support (like Intel EM64T
    CPUs) this option has no performance advantage over the normal idle loop.
    It may also interact badly with hyperthreading.

    Rebooting

    reboot=b[ios] | t[riple] | k[bd] [, [w]arm | [c]old]
    bios Use the CPU reboot vector for warm reset
    warm Don't set the cold reboot flag
    cold Set the cold reboot flag
    triple Force a triple fault (init)
    kbd Use the keyboard controller. cold reset (default)

    Using warm reset will be much faster especially on big memory
    systems because the BIOS will not go through the memory check.
    Disadvantage is that not all hardware will be completely reinitialized
    on reboot so there may be boot problems on some systems.

    reboot=force

    Don't stop other CPUs on reboot. This can make reboot more reliable
    in some cases.

    Non Executable Mappings

    noexec=on|off

    on Enable(default)
    off Disable

    SMP

    additional_cpus=NUM Allow NUM more CPUs for hotplug
    (defaults are specified by the BIOS, see Documentation/x86_64/cpu-hotplug-spec)

    NUMA

    numa=off Only set up a single NUMA node spanning all memory.

    numa=noacpi Don't parse the SRAT table for NUMA setup

    numa=fake=CMDLINE
    If a number, fakes CMDLINE nodes and ignores NUMA setup of the
    actual machine. Otherwise, system memory is configured
    depending on the sizes and coefficients listed. For example:
    numa=fake=2*512,1024,4*256,*128
    gives two 512M nodes, a 1024M node, four 256M nodes, and the
    rest split into 128M chunks. If the last character of CMDLINE
    is a *, the remaining memory is divided up equally among its
    coefficient:
    numa=fake=2*512,2*
    gives two 512M nodes and the rest split into two nodes.
    Otherwise, the remaining system RAM is allocated to an
    additional node.

    numa=hotadd=percent
    Only allow hotadd memory to preallocate page structures upto
    percent of already available memory.
    numa=hotadd=0 will disable hotadd memory.

    ACPI

    acpi=off Don't enable ACPI
    acpi=ht Use ACPI boot table parsing, but don't enable ACPI
    interpreter
    acpi=force Force ACPI on (currently not needed)

    acpi=strict Disable out of spec ACPI workarounds.

    acpi_sci={edge,level,high,low} Set up ACPI SCI interrupt.

    acpi=noirq Don't route interrupts


    PCI

    pci=off Don't use PCI
    pci=conf1 Use conf1 access.
    pci=conf2 Use conf2 access.
    pci=rom Assign ROMs.
    pci=assign-busses Assign busses
    pci=irqmask=MASK Set PCI interrupt mask to MASK
    pci=lastbus=NUMBER Scan upto NUMBER busses, no matter what the mptable says.
    pci=noacpi Don't use ACPI to set up PCI interrupt routing.

    IOMMU (input/output memory management unit)

    Currently four x86-64 PCI-DMA mapping implementations exist:

    1. <arch/x86_64/kernel/pci-nommu.c>: use no hardware/software IOMMU at all
    (e.g. because you have < 3 GB memory).
    Kernel boot message: "PCI-DMA: Disabling IOMMU"

    2. <arch/x86_64/kernel/pci-gart.c>: AMD GART based hardware IOMMU.
    Kernel boot message: "PCI-DMA: using GART IOMMU"

    3. <arch/x86_64/kernel/pci-swiotlb.c> : Software IOMMU implementation. Used
    e.g. if there is no hardware IOMMU in the system and it is need because
    you have >3GB memory or told the kernel to us it (iommu=soft))
    Kernel boot message: "PCI-DMA: Using software bounce buffering
    for IO (SWIOTLB)"

    4. <arch/x86_64/pci-calgary.c> : IBM Calgary hardware IOMMU. Used in IBM
    pSeries and xSeries servers. This hardware IOMMU supports DMA address
    mapping with memory protection, etc.
    Kernel boot message: "PCI-DMA: Using Calgary IOMMU"

    iommu=[<size>][,noagp][,off][,force][,noforce][,leak[=<nr_of_leak_pages>]
    [,memaper[=<order>]][,merge][,forcesac][,fullflush][,nomerge]
    [,noaperture][,calgary]

    General iommu options:
    off Don't initialize and use any kind of IOMMU.
    noforce Don't force hardware IOMMU usage when it is not needed.
    (default).
    force Force the use of the hardware IOMMU even when it is
    not actually needed (e.g. because < 3 GB memory).
    soft Use software bounce buffering (SWIOTLB) (default for
    Intel machines). This can be used to prevent the usage
    of an available hardware IOMMU.

    iommu options only relevant to the AMD GART hardware IOMMU:
    <size> Set the size of the remapping area in bytes.
    allowed Overwrite iommu off workarounds for specific chipsets.
    fullflush Flush IOMMU on each allocation (default).
    nofullflush Don't use IOMMU fullflush.
    leak Turn on simple iommu leak tracing (only when
    CONFIG_IOMMU_LEAK is on). Default number of leak pages
    is 20.
    memaper[=<order>] Allocate an own aperture over RAM with size 32MB<<order.
    (default: order=1, i.e. 64MB)
    merge Do scatter-gather (SG) merging. Implies "force"
    (experimental).
    nomerge Don't do scatter-gather (SG) merging.
    noaperture Ask the IOMMU not to touch the aperture for AGP.
    forcesac Force single-address cycle (SAC) mode for masks <40bits
    (experimental).
    noagp Don't initialize the AGP driver and use full aperture.
    allowdac Allow double-address cycle (DAC) mode, i.e. DMA >4GB.
    DAC is used with 32-bit PCI to push a 64-bit address in
    two cycles. When off all DMA over >4GB is forced through
    an IOMMU or software bounce buffering.
    nodac Forbid DAC mode, i.e. DMA >4GB.
    panic Always panic when IOMMU overflows.
    calgary Use the Calgary IOMMU if it is available

    iommu options only relevant to the software bounce buffering (SWIOTLB) IOMMU
    implementation:
    swiotlb=<pages>[,force]
    <pages> Prereserve that many 128K pages for the software IO
    bounce buffering.
    force Force all IO through the software TLB.

    Settings for the IBM Calgary hardware IOMMU currently found in IBM
    pSeries and xSeries machines:

    calgary=[64k,128k,256k,512k,1M,2M,4M,8M]
    calgary=[translate_empty_slots]
    calgary=[disable=<PCI bus number>]
    panic Always panic when IOMMU overflows

    64k,...,8M - Set the size of each PCI slot's translation table
    when using the Calgary IOMMU. This is the size of the translation
    table itself in main memory. The smallest table, 64k, covers an IO
    space of 32MB; the largest, 8MB table, can cover an IO space of
    4GB. Normally the kernel will make the right choice by itself.

    translate_empty_slots - Enable translation even on slots that have
    no devices attached to them, in case a device will be hotplugged
    in the future.

    disable=<PCI bus number> - Disable translation on a given PHB. For
    example, the built-in graphics adapter resides on the first bridge
    (PCI bus number 0); if translation (isolation) is enabled on this
    bridge, X servers that access the hardware directly from user
    space might stop working. Use this option if you have devices that
    are accessed from userspace directly on some PCI host bridge.

    Debugging

    oops=panic Always panic on oopses. Default is to just kill the process,
    but there is a small probability of deadlocking the machine.
    This will also cause panics on machine check exceptions.
    Useful together with panic=30 to trigger a reboot.

    kstack=N Print N words from the kernel stack in oops dumps.

    pagefaulttrace Dump all page faults. Only useful for extreme debugging
    and will create a lot of output.

    call_trace=[old|both|newfallback|new]
    old: use old inexact backtracer
    new: use new exact dwarf2 unwinder
    both: print entries from both
    newfallback: use new unwinder but fall back to old if it gets
    stuck (default)
     
  7. navskin

    navskin Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks for the info this is very help full now iam able to get rig of that error that has been buging me.

    thanks agian for all your help.

    do you think we should start a set of forums on the x86?
    i think it would be a good idea as there is not mutch support around for the project.
     
  8. varnull

    varnull Guest

    It may help, most x86 people are used to searching the unix forums and pages.
     
  9. navskin

    navskin Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i no i am bugging you but i have got a new problem same pc. right i turned it on this morning its saying panic cpu 01


    Log:

    Started CPU 01
    PANIC (Cpu 01 CALLER 0x0019DACB): Copy_Window_init: cpu> num_cpus
    .............................
    com.apple.driver.APPLEACPIPLATFORM
    Depency: com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFAMILY
    depency: com.apple.iokit.IOAPCIFAMILY

    can you help me. please
     
  10. varnull

    varnull Guest

  11. navskin

    navskin Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well thats spoted me in my tracks then. i have been on ebay looking at the apple mac g4 towers do you know if they are anygood. and i would it run tiger good. i know it would need some upgares like ram and a dvdrw and like a hdd. what do you think.

    thanks
     
  12. varnull

    varnull Guest

    I wouldn't have a mac if they paid me.. sorry, but I think they are just crap, with a next to useless proprietary OS thrown on top.

    I think what you need to do is research methods to install with a different kernel.. That's what the problem is.. The osx-ix86 instruction set is a compromise to start with, not helped by trying to run on a processor which is translating every instruction to x64 set.. Not the best plan.. there is a 30% performance hit from just running a ix86 OS on 64 hardware to start with.. compounded with the fragile nature of the osx-intel setup.. it's always going to end badly TBH.

    Why don't you get a proper 64bit unix or linux on that amd beast and unleash it's power instead of trying to force an os on that isn't designed for it?

    Dreamlinux looks identical to tiger ;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 7, 2008
  13. navskin

    navskin Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yes that looks cool i like the look of that so there are 64-bit version of that then. but the only problems i would get with that is i am not on the internet at home so , i am using it a friend house.
    so is there any way that i can download the packages from some web site with out having to move my computer to my firend house. thanks for the feeback aswell would you beable to help me to get thing running and sorted out. i have used unbutu but i had some problems with thing like programs ect. would you recermend some packages that would get me going.

    for things like

    codecs
    virtal machines
    video player
    mp3 software (like xmms)
    office package
    wine
    dvd cd burning and converting

    and thanks for the comments on my system people have said that its not up to the job for whats around today.

    ps what pc have you got , if you dont mind me asking.
     
  14. nutter2

    nutter2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  15. navskin

    navskin Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks for the info will have a look tonnight when i get back from work.


    thanks
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2008

Share This Page