1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing Windows Me

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by ELwater, Apr 18, 2007.

  1. ELwater

    ELwater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i have a blank hard drive(40gb) and i want to install windows me(i got the real disk no bootlegg) how would i do such a thing?
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2007
  2. K_Mitnick

    K_Mitnick Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    You stick the disc into the computer's CD drive, follow directions on screen, choose the blank hard drive when it asks you where to install, and it should all be pretty obvious from there on.
     
  3. krj15489

    krj15489 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    put the cd in. then restart the computer. then you will have to press f 12 for boot option. it might be different for you. just look on the screen when the computer starts up. then select cd to boot from. then you just follow the instructions
     
  4. ELwater

    ELwater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok thanks
     
  5. ELwater

    ELwater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    it says that i need "csdpmi*b.zip" where can i get this?
     
  6. krj15489

    krj15489 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    not sure, i dint know what that is
     
  7. stan789

    stan789 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    leave it to windows Me to have errors in it like that i had that OS for the Longest periord of time for years on my first computer and it was awful,always blue screen errors,screen freezing,computer locking,if you like a classic version use windows 2000 Pro if you can get a hold of a disk.but sorry im putting my 2 cents in this conversation when it was not needed
     
  8. blivetNC

    blivetNC Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Try starting your computer with a floppy boot disk, choose option #2, boot with CD ROM supprt. Format the disk for FAT32 and you should be fine.
    If you don't have a boot disk, get one from here.
    Windows ME OEM boot disk
     
  9. Morph416

    Morph416 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    To add to Blivet's suggestion and to avoid confusion, Windows ME will not format a drive to NTFS...you won't have that option.

    So....following that suggestion, once the computer boots from the floppy..(CD will also have this option when you boot from it)..and get to the DOS command prompt, type in format c:

    (will look like this)

    A\>format c:
     

Share This Page