1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Internal/External Conversion & Maxtor Hard Drives

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by bethie, Apr 19, 2005.

1. bethie

bethie Member

I am new to the whole digital video editing game and I have a crappy Dell Laptop (Pentium 4, XP small business, 512MB RAM). It didn't come with a dvd burner, so I am thinking of getting an external one, and it seems that the Plextors are a good choice. They don't make external ones, so I am going to get a housing with the fan in it to make it external. I have a couple questions (I'll get to the Maxtor in a sec)-

Is it advisable to get one of these dvd burners and then install it in a little housing with a fan that converts the way it is hooked up to the computer from all the internal hookups to firewire or usb?

If that is ok, then I come to the hard drive. I need like 250GB, every one I know has macs and uses Lacie. I know that windows users can use Lacie with some cd that comes with it to reformat it for PCs or something but I worry that could cause later problems. The other brand I hear bandied about is Maxtor. Is this a good brand? Will it work ok with my Dell laptop and the external dvd burner? Is this setup completely asinine to edit video from my Canon XL2 camcorder? Let me know if I am being stupid is you care to stop me from making all these lovely mistakes :)

-beth

2. axlman

axlman Regular member

My personal opinion about "maxtor" is: They Suck! I've heard nothing but crashing issues with maxtor drives! I had a Maxtor drive one time, 6 months later it died, first it started to sound real scratchy, then it was gone! I've never had a problem with Seagate or Westerndigital though! :)

Last edited: Apr 19, 2005
  3. ddp

ddp Moderator Staff Member