1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is 8 gb of pc3200 ram better then 3 gb of pc4200 Ram

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by JoeSoGood, Aug 7, 2007.

  1. JoeSoGood

    JoeSoGood Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My question is pretty much that. What would be better to run 8 gb of pc2 3200 ram or 3 gb of pc24200 ram? Thanks
     
  2. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    uhh, 8gigs is overkill, so 3gb should work...
     
  3. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Usually I say Amount over speed, but only as far as you need it. 3GB is as much as you'll ever need for a LONG time. I make do with 2GB and rarely have problems.
     
  4. dshah101

    dshah101 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I suggest you go with 3 gig unless you are doing something really heavy duty. Than 8gb would be the way to go. Your computer will run smoothly with 3 gb
     
  5. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Bear in mind only a 64-bit OS will support 8GB.
     
  6. JoeSoGood

    JoeSoGood Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks guys for the help. I was going to bid on the ram on ebay but like sammorris brought up a really valuable point about the OS. I didn't even think of that because I am going to be running Vista Ultimate 32 bit. Thanks for the help guys
     
  7. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Ugh, Vista? Your choice!
     
  8. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    hey man... *crysis*, dx10 goodness!
     
  9. mikeh0303

    mikeh0303 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    dual boot is the answer!
     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    mike, edit that email address out of your sig ASAP.
    10. Don't post your email address to the forums! Spambots love dumb forum users who post their email addresses to public sites and grab those addresses and you will soon discover the wonders of penis enlargement kits and other really useful products posted daily to your inbox.
     
  11. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,739
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    68
    You're asking about 8GB of RAM being better than 3GB. And you say you are going to run it on Vista 32? Then you say that you are bidding for it on e-Bay?

    P.T. Barnum comes to mind. :(
     
  12. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    There are four things in this thread I wouldn't do:

    1. put my email address in a forum
    2. Bid for RAM on ebay
    3. Buy 8GB of RAM
    4. Run Vista
     
  13. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    lol ddp
     
  14. xXxBG

    xXxBG Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    sammorris Vista should be at the top. :)

    JoeSoGood- why Vista?? it sucks
     
  15. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    They were in no particular order lol
     
  16. mikeh0303

    mikeh0303 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    lol, my spam filter is really good with gmail, so none of them every make it to the inbox.

    I did edit my sig for you.
     
  17. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Even so, google could do without their servers receiving thousands upon thousands of spam emails.
     
  18. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    mike, i pm'ed you after i posted that. also rules are rules so no exceptions on postings.
     
  19. JoeSoGood

    JoeSoGood Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well I didn't like Vista til my mom got it on her PC and found out how smooth it runs. Anyway what's wrong with ebay? You use paypal, if a someone screws you, you get your money back. Simple as that.
     
  20. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Heh, have you tried that? It's not always as easy as you might think.
     

Share This Page