1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

is the xenium mod chip always on or can it be turned off

Discussion in 'Xbox - General discussion' started by NapalmStr, Mar 13, 2004.

  1. NapalmStr

    NapalmStr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Loading evolutionX dash via slayers auto install, and don't know what configuartion is correct for the xenium.

    1-Config-B: Setup V1.0 XBOX with Retail HD and MOD chip that's always ON.

    2-Config-D: Setup V1.0 XBOX with Retail HD and MOD chip that can be truned OFF.

    thanks
     
  2. darthnip

    darthnip Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    from my understanding, you select the original bios and make sure your hard drive is locked and the chip is off and it's safe to go on live. i haven't tried this with my Xenium, but i just read it on xbox-scene 5 minutes ago.
     
  3. NapalmStr

    NapalmStr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    so your thinkong option 2 - Config D.
     
  4. darthnip

    darthnip Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    yeah thats the route that i would take.
     
  5. BzNtz

    BzNtz Guest

    Hmm... I'm a little confused.

    So what is the easiest way to disable the Xenium if you want to play on XBox live? There's no external switch. Or does it even matter if the chip is on, so long as the hard drive is locked?

    (I'm getting my chip installed next week)


     
  6. NapalmStr

    NapalmStr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i believe that the xenium can be disabled at boot either by running original bios (assign button and press before time out). someone please correct me if i'm wrong.
     
  7. BzNtz

    BzNtz Guest

    Actually, I ended up bailing on the Xenium, and went with an Xecuter 2.3b lite. On / off switch right on the front... not a lot of other frills, it just does what you need it to do. Very satisfied.
     
  8. liquid51

    liquid51 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    just to fill in on the xenium... yeah, you can either press the button you assigned the original bios to, or wait for the xenium os to start. The original and all four banks are bootable and configurable from here.
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2004

Share This Page