1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

just got dvd x copy platinum- problems......?!

Discussion in 'Copy DVD to DVDR' started by impostal, May 29, 2004.

  1. impostal

    impostal Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi everyone..new to the forum, and i unfortunately am starting my experience here...with problems..


    ok..so i just spent 110$ to buy dvd x copy, because i was told it was *THE* program to have for dvd burning with complete compatibility across dvd players, blablabla. i install it, etc...rip the movie...i click start to burn..it just sits there w/o any progress then goes right to finalizing cd. i check the logs and it says this:

    DVDXCopy Platinum 4.0.3
    __________________________________________________ ___________________

    Build Date : Feb 6 2004 10:25:41
    Current Date: Sat 5-29-2004 11:39:21 PM
    Windows Version: 5.1
    DLL Versions:
    asyncflt.ax 3.20
    bouducon.dll 1.3.5.103
    Platinum.dll 1.0.0.0
    Common.dll 1.0.0.0
    platinum.exe 4, 0, 3, 8
    XPress.dll 1.0.0.0
    vso_hwe.dll 1.3.14.118
    xpress.exe 4, 0, 3, 8

    Features: CSS:Yes
    __________________________________________________ ___________________

    Loading Resources : C:program Files321StudiosPlatinumPlatinum.dll, C:program Files321StudiosPlatinumCommon.dll
    Available Drive : 1:1:0 - ARTEC WSM-52X 1.10 [E] (Ide)
    Selected Drive : 1:0:0 - _NEC DVD_RW ND-2500A 1.07 [D] (Ide)
    Using Selected Drive: 1:0:0 - _NEC DVD_RW ND-2500A 1.07 [D] (Ide)
    Using Selected Drive Index: 1
    __________________________________________________ ___________________



    Generating Compression Settings for 1 titlesets.

    Total Sectors: 2986927 Overall Compression Pct: 76.5276

    Titleset 1: 76 % Size: 2986927
    Compressed Titleset 1: 76 % Size: 2270064 (4,649,092,096)


    Total Compressed Sectors: 2270064 (4,649,091,072)

    -- Single Disc with Compression --
    >> Titleset Compression 1: Size: 2270064 (4,649,091,072)
    Done Reading..
    Load burn engine.
    0040DB00: New BLANK or ERASABLE DVD media has been inserted - progress is the media change count, starting from 1:
    Writing Disc: FULL_METAL_JACKET
    0040DB00: Gathering file from the path passed
    0040DB00: Generating image and cache
    0040DB00: Writing Movie:0
    0040DB00: Writing Movie:0
    0040DB00: Writing Movie:0
    0040DB00: Writing Movie:0
    0040DB00: Writing Movie:0
    0040DB00: Writing Movie:0
    0040DB00: Finished.
    0040DB00: Writing failed (write error or process aborted):
    0040DB00: Drive is not ready
    0040DB00: Blank media has been removed

    drive is not ready? what the hell is that all about!? anyone know why i'm experiencing this or how it can be fixed?

    also, the only reason i sunk $ into dvdxcopy platinum instead of sticking with dvd shrink/decrypter is that i got inconsistent results with this method sometimes. like i burned kill bill twice..same dvd media...one worked in powerdvd, one didn't. one worked in my home dvd player, one didn't. kept getting this type of inconsistency, so i decided to try dvd x copy AND IT LOOKS LIKE IT ISN'T HELPING ME MUCH. i love dvdshrink/decrypter, but those inconsistencies rendered many burns useless, because i need them to work on my dvd player.

    any idea why THAT would happen?

    thanks for the help ahead of time!

    edit- another thing that would happen with shrink/decrypter is that with the burns if i tried fastforwarding in a dvd player, the movie would freeze and not play anymore. if i tried skipping ahead using windows media player or powerdvd, i'd get a read error, but not with winDVD. I HATE INCONSISTENCY. and it shouldn't be happening, as far as i can tell!
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2004
  2. Ni4ni

    Ni4ni Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The file's too large, run Xpress in simple mode without entire disk checked.
     
  3. impostal

    impostal Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    but it compressed it...

    i just burned the files it created through nero 6 with no problem, so i don't think that's it.

    any idea what the problems with dvdshrink/decrypter could be?
     
  4. xbadboy2

    xbadboy2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I would try what he said but I notice that if I don't run AD-AWARE & SPYBOT both are free that dvdXcopy Platinum will freeze up. Get this I will remove all spy-ware come to afterdawn just afterdawn and I have more spy-ware on my computer than when I first started. So to any Newbie go and get these 2 programs. I'm not knocking afterdawn I love this place I'm on the computer more because of it and because all the people in here that help everyone not because they have to because they like to. I would not been able to make my first back up if not for all of you guys out here that help you know who you are. Just go and get some thing to remove the spy ware.
    I also was having a problem with it only writing for 3 min and only burning the start menu (platinum) 321 had me update the pattern=couffin and it has worked fine don't really use it much at all but I still have it..
    _
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]The only stupid questions are the ones you don't ask. If you don't ask you will never know.[/small]
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2004
  5. Ni4ni

    Ni4ni Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That file is too big for Platinum to burn. It needs to be around 4.35GB.
     
  6. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
  7. impostal

    impostal Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ni4ni- it wasn't too big, cuz i burned it using nero no problem. it was actually much smaller than the maximum size.

    nephilium- i've used tdk and verbatim...which are good quality media i thought?
     
  8. impostal

    impostal Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    also, when dvd x copy opens, and i hit advanced, the "browse" button cannot be clicked (it's faded out and unclickable). what's with that!?
     
  9. xbadboy2

    xbadboy2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The only version of platinum that the browse button works on is 4.0.4.15. RF. If you know how to find the log file the user manual is in there as well just so you know.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]The only stupid questions are the ones you don't ask. If you don't ask you will never know.[/small]
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2004
  10. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    impostal, try updating your aspi layer. ForceASPI is an easy install. Also change your media.
     
  11. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    and if your interested. Use DVD43 with Nero Recode 2.
     
  12. Car.Mike

    Car.Mike Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,787
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    impostal
    Ni4ni was correct. The problem is w/ the program. There was not enough compression used. 4,649,092,096/1024= 4540128. and that will not fit on 4.3 gb.
    You need to use Shrink and Nero to do your burning. Far more reliable and in the end cheaper. If you want to use Plat. go ahead but there is a forum w/in Afterdawn for that program. Good Luck
     
  13. impostal

    impostal Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    coouldn't find the forum dedicated solely to platinum. anyway, i bought platinum to fix the inconsistency i was receiving with shrink burns, although i like shrink/decrypter MUCH more than platinum. if i could find a way to fix that problem without using platinum, i'm all ears. i'd love to ditch this program asap and sell it. again, i need to fix inconsistency (sometimes powerdvd will work with some dvds, while other times, same movie, it'll only work in windvd). i can't stand this inconsistency, and makes the burning process unreliable. i need reliability.
     
  14. impostal

    impostal Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    just ran forceaspi...rebooted, used aspichk.exe to see if everything was okay...

    well, first of all...i tried backing up original ASPI's, and the program said i didn't have any. now aspichk.exe is telling me the components were replaced with older versions...what do i do now, and is it a bad idea to even try using the drives now?
     
  15. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    if you installed ForceASPI, aspichk will say v4.60 for all dll's. Also what media are you using?
     
  16. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    as far as trying your drives, I would to see if it fixed your problem.
     
  17. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
  18. impostal

    impostal Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    the checker program says this:

    LOG0143: *****************************************************************
    LOG0144: Starting ASPICHK installer on Mon May 31 01:18:33 2004
    ASPICHK0438: OS = Windows NT (5.01.2600)
    UPGRADE0965: File c:\windows\system32\wnaspi32.dll does not exist
    UPGRADE0369: No existing file to compare, upgrade recommended
    UPGRADE0965: File c:\windows\system\winaspi.dll does not exist
    UPGRADE0369: No existing file to compare, upgrade recommended
    UPGRADE0965: File c:\windows\system32\drivers\aspi32.sys does not exist
    UPGRADE0369: No existing file to compare, upgrade recommended
    UPGRADE0965: File c:\windows\system\wowpost.exe does not exist
    UPGRADE0369: No existing file to compare, upgrade recommended
    ASPICHK0522: Inconsistent version numbers among components
    ASPICHK0592: ASPI installation has problems
    LOG0218: Closing installer log on Mon May 31 01:18:33 2004
    LOG0219: *****************************************************************

    there was no ASPI on my computer beforehand, and now the checker says there's problems, not that everything is okay. wtf!?
     
  19. impostal

    impostal Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok so...if we can solve this ASPI problem, and figure out why i get inconsistent (yet mostly-working) burns, i'll gladly ditch x copy. just please, help with the inconsistency...i can't stand it.
     
  20. impostal

    impostal Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    oh, and carmike, if it's too big, explain to me why when i burned the info using nero6, it was actually more like 4.2gigs?
     

Share This Page