1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LiteOn SHM-165H6S problems burning DL

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by steff3, Jun 24, 2007.

  1. steff3

    steff3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,
    I have the above mention burner. Works well except on DL media. Coasters 90% of the time. I use only Verbs (or Ritek occasionally). I have uninstalled, checked connections, have latest firmware, assured DMA enabled, and even call their support. Still no good on DL media. Same media burns fine on my laptop's NEC. Any thoughts besides another burner?
     
  2. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hmmm I have the same drive and so far no dual layer coasters.
    I use Verb only too but so far only the ones rated a max burn speed of 4x or 2.4x. The higher rated burn speed dl discs are made differently so that might be the case here if your using 6x or 8x (?)

    I usually use ImgBurn to burn dual layer.

    What did tech support say?
     
  3. steff3

    steff3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Tech support had me due the normal (which I already had done) uninstall, check connections, assure set to master, etc. Funny thing is, shortly after I had called I started to burn withiut issue but after three burns, same ol. Thought perhaps I had a bad batch of media but order another 50 pack of Verbs and same results. Maybe I should just buy anther burner and be done with it.
     
  4. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    If it still under warranty I'd have them replace it.

    Did you try another program to burn just in case?
     
  5. steff3

    steff3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Tried Nero and Clone, both same reusults. Will check on the warranty and see if it is still valid. Thanks for your input.
     
  6. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Not a problem.

    I think the warranty is good for a year but I could be wrong.
     

Share This Page