1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Liteon Wont burn lightscribe DVD's

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by ohguy240, Dec 26, 2007.

  1. ohguy240

    ohguy240 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a Liteon lightscribe external dvd burner. the model is DX-20A3H05C. It burned like the first ten movies I backed up fine on Verbatim DVD+R 16X dvd's but it just stopped all of a sudden saying illegal disk in. So i tried burning one on a DVD+RW non lightscribe disk and it worked. Why would it not work with my lightscribe DVD's anymore? The DVD+RW was 4X. Any held would be appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. iluvendo

    iluvendo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hi, I just got one of them for Christmas and only burned a couple of Ritek discs on it and all seemed fine. I burn slow at 2.4x for dl and 4x for -R. Could burn speed be your prob? See if you can update firmware for it and then give it a go.
     
  3. ohguy240

    ohguy240 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    where can i update it. I went to the site but my model number wasn't there so I don't know how to update it.
     
  4. iluvendo

    iluvendo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    Me too, I can't find the firmware update as of yet.
     
  5. ChrisC586

    ChrisC586 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  6. ohguy240

    ohguy240 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    it wasn't on there. thanks for the idea though. I just don't know if that's what i need to do or what. it burns RW DVD's just fine. I even slowed the burn speed down on it.
     
  7. ohguy240

    ohguy240 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I got a hold of liteon and they said that they don't have firmware for that model yet. Does that mean it isn't available. They said to use well known DVD's. Isn't Verbatim a good brand?
     
  8. ChrisC586

    ChrisC586 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  9. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,708
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Verbatim is all I use. It is great media.
     
  10. ohguy240

    ohguy240 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    This might be a stupid question and I apologize if it is but the site has DH for the first two numbers of the model and mine is DX. Does this matter?
     
  11. ChrisC586

    ChrisC586 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sorry no that won't work with the DX another post I didn't read thoroughly.Time to go to bed.Chris
     
  12. Amir89

    Amir89 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You need to download the LightScribe Control Panel(google it) and update your DVD+R's firmware. That should do it.
     

Share This Page